Easy to Make Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! I used 1/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. smart beat instead of 1/2 c. shortenning. And I did not roll the dough I just made it into balls and flattened them with my hands. I used ground ginger instead of ginger roots. It came out VERY delicious crunchy at the bottom but soft inside. Thank you very much for this recipe. I will use it with different spices and flavors in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
MY MOM AND BRO LOVED THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very tasty, good consistency, something a little different. I used sushi ginger - minced it finely by rolling a pizza cutter over it. This worked fine, but it would probably taste better with fresh ginger. These cookies are a good consistency for shipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These are a perfect way of getting ginger-root into my 3 yr. old. (Ginger-root keeps her from getting carsick.) We cut these with little heart-shaped cutters and dipped the topsides in sugar before baking. (Lots of fun for my little helper!) I had to hide some because everyone else in the house was eating them! Oh, these freeze nicely and thaw quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
yum! I substituted butter instead of shortening because I was out. I think next time I'll chop the ginger even finer so that it incorporates better. I dusted them with some granulated sugar right before popping them in the oven to give them a little bit of sweetness. I'll definitely make these again... Maybe with a little crushed up peppermint candy in the batter to give it a holiday flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
A very nice, simple cookie that my husband actually ate and asked me to cook again - the only other type he likes are Anzac biscuits which are also crunchy. I want more crisp crunchie cookie recipes!!! The dough was a nice consistency and handled very well. I will add a bit more ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
One of the best cookie recipe, very crunchy, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
more ginger is called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Not ideal for use with cookie cutters. The cookies turned out to be good with tea , but bland on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Followed recipe exactly. These were very dry and crumbly. The taste is ok. I am going to add allrecipes /sugar-cookie-frosting icing to them to jazz them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States