Easy and Tasty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was easy and was wonderful! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This soup is GREAT but it definitely makes way more than 5 servings!!!! I fed a family of five and still had enough to fill a big bowl for the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Easy Tasty Chicken Tortilla Soup: "What's missing in here? It is called 'Tortilla Soup', but no tortillas?" Had to chuckle at preparing this recipe that there were no tortillas (corn, flour, chip, or otherwise) in the ingredient list, so lazy me just tossed some chips on at the end. I've just noticed too that I completely missed the cream of chicken soup, for which I feel bad for even reviewing this, b/c I think w/, or w/o it, the soup's flavor and texture would change quite a bit. (IMHO, I'm glad I forgot it.) Random rant - I dislike recipes w/o nice even serving sizes that I can calculate down by half. What's w/ the 5? So I eyeballed the ingredient list and scaled it to the best of my poor, mathematically-challenged brain. Sauted the onion w/ bell pepper (no banana), and garlic cloves (yuck, garlic powder) and tossed everything in the crock pot b4 leaving for work. Left on low for about 8 hrs. and it was good, but just too mild for our taste. After adding extra hot sauce, cheese, cilantro (fresh), and of course TORTILLA chips, it was a good soup that I'll make again; the best parts were the chick peas, and the fact that my 3-year old demolished her whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Simple, quick and easy with plenty of flavor. A definite family favorite from the first serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was very easy. I read the review that said it was more than five servings so I pretty much cut the recipe in half for me, my husband and son. There was still enough for me to bring a bowl for lunch! I made a few changes to use what I had on hand. I did 1.5c water, chicken bullion, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can of chicken, 1 can of black beans, frozen corn, sauted onions, 1 can of Rotel tomatoes, Adobo seasoning, Cumin, Garlic, and Pepper to taste. Topped with sour cream, cheese, avacado and grilled tortillas. I would have liked it a little more spice but I didn't want it to be too hot for my son so just added a little heat to the individual bowls. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The combination of ingredients gives this soup an extra something that the other recipes don't have. I didn't have black beans when I made this so I subbed with kidney beans. I also subbed canned corn for the hominy and did not add the banana pepper. I think it would be even better as written. The only change I will keep in the future is subbing all natural chicken broth for the water and bullion cubes. Cuts down on the salt and tastes even better. Overall a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is an easy recipe to follow, and it makes a tasty soup. I substituted red beans for the garbanzo beans, and I left out the cream of chicken soup, and instead of the 4 cups of water I used chicken broth. It turned our delish! I thought it to be a tad bit spicy with the chili powder, cumin, and hot sauce, so I just used salt and pepper with the cumin. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
So good and so easy. Great way to use left over chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Super easy. Basically opened up a bunch of cans and poured into a pot. I did make a few changes that made it a little spicier. Used low sodium chicken broth, no banana pepper so used an anheim pepper and broiled it first in oven and took off the skin. Used a can of diced tomatoes with habaneros to take it up a level. Only 1 can of cream of chicken soup (at this point I was getting concerned about sodium level). Fresh chopped garlic instead of garlic salt. Fresh chopped cilantro (sprinkled on top after soup cooked). NO franks red hot. Used a chili seasoning to spice it up too. Trying to figure out ways to salt level otherwise really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
We made this for our monthly dinner group. It was so simple with everything being in cans, yet everyone thought we slaved over it and thought it tasted fantastic! They all raved about it and asked for the recipe. The only change we made was halving the amount of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States