Easy and Tasty Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This soup is GREAT but it definitely makes way more than 5 servings!!!! I fed a family of five and still had enough to fill a big bowl for the refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was easy and was wonderful! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Easy Tasty Chicken Tortilla Soup: "What's missing in here? It is called 'Tortilla Soup', but no tortillas?" Had to chuckle at preparing this recipe that there were no tortillas (corn, flour, chip, or otherwise) in the ingredient list, so lazy me just tossed some chips on at the end. I've just noticed too that I completely missed the cream of chicken soup, for which I feel bad for even reviewing this, b/c I think w/, or w/o it, the soup's flavor and texture would change quite a bit. (IMHO, I'm glad I forgot it.) Random rant - I dislike recipes w/o nice even serving sizes that I can calculate down by half. What's w/ the 5? So I eyeballed the ingredient list and scaled it to the best of my poor, mathematically-challenged brain. Sauted the onion w/ bell pepper (no banana), and garlic cloves (yuck, garlic powder) and tossed everything in the crock pot b4 leaving for work. Left on low for about 8 hrs. and it was good, but just too mild for our taste. After adding extra hot sauce, cheese, cilantro (fresh), and of course TORTILLA chips, it was a good soup that I'll make again; the best parts were the chick peas, and the fact that my 3-year old demolished her whole bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Simple, quick and easy with plenty of flavor. A definite family favorite from the first serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was very easy. I read the review that said it was more than five servings so I pretty much cut the recipe in half for me, my husband and son. There was still enough for me to bring a bowl for lunch! I made a few changes to use what I had on hand. I did 1.5c water, chicken bullion, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can of chicken, 1 can of black beans, frozen corn, sauted onions, 1 can of Rotel tomatoes, Adobo seasoning, Cumin, Garlic, and Pepper to taste. Topped with sour cream, cheese, avacado and grilled tortillas. I would have liked it a little more spice but I didn't want it to be too hot for my son so just added a little heat to the individual bowls. Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The combination of ingredients gives this soup an extra something that the other recipes don't have. I didn't have black beans when I made this so I subbed with kidney beans. I also subbed canned corn for the hominy and did not add the banana pepper. I think it would be even better as written. The only change I will keep in the future is subbing all natural chicken broth for the water and bullion cubes. Cuts down on the salt and tastes even better. Overall a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great tasting and easy to make i tweeked it to suit our taste. It was awesome! A quick easy dish that will feed a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was the first time I've tried this recipe; had saved another recipe a fews years back but hadn't got around to it yet. This one is THE BEST soup I've made in a while! And everyone else loved it too. We had a smoked turkey during the holidays, so since it had already been seasoned with a cajun spice blend, I thought it would be a great flavor base for this type of soup. I am going to be making this one again soon!! Thanks for this post ShannyBanany!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Very tasty and simple to make! I love this recipe! It makes a ton of soup. I took it to a cookout and my friends were impressed that I made it. I add real garlic and half a fresh chopped jalepeno for a bolder flavor. It takes about 25 minutes to put together, and I let it simmer for 2 hours. I highly recommend it for a go-to soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
We made this for our monthly dinner group. It was so simple with everything being in cans, yet everyone thought we slaved over it and thought it tasted fantastic! They all raved about it and asked for the recipe. The only change we made was halving the amount of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States