Easy and Tasty All-Purpose Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I'm giving this a 4 star only because I've had my own version of this for a long time and I think it's better. Try using equal amounts of soy sauce, olive oil and LIME JUICE instead of the water. This is an outstanding marinade for ANY type of meat...also use the LIGHT SOY SAUCE for a less salty taste and don't marinade for more than a couple hours...ENJOY the raves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I made this twice. First with water and then with lime juice. It was better with the lime juice. I also took the advice of using equal parts of olive oil and soy sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azorean Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
All I can say is that this is such an easy thing to do and it is great. It truly does make the meat or seafood very moist and has great flavor. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Excellent steak marinade. I really like this, the steaks were tender and juicy. Plus they had a good flavor without being too salty. They were every bit as flavorful as what you get at a restuarant. The best part is I have these ingredients on hand at all times. The only change I made was to use regular oil rather than olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
Maybe I did something wrong with this recipe. I used it with top round steaks and marinated for about 8 hours. The steaks were tender, but so salty we could barely eat them. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Definately easy and tasty! Used all lime juice as suggested in earlier reviews. Will be a good change of pace from our normal marinade (Puerto Rican Garlic Marinade from this site). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This recipe was okay...I didn't really like the oily part of it though. To me, it kept all of the soy sauce and garlic flavor from getting to the steak. I'll try it again, but I'll probably mix it around and do my own thing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessrettstatt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was just great on steaks! I, too, used lime juice in place of water and equal parts soy sauce and olive oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I halved the recipe for 3 porkchops, marinated over night, and ohh myyy this was fabulous!! not too salty at all! Like some others, I added worcheshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This marinade was not salty at all. I must have been soy sauce. Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Roasted Peppers

Discover a simple way to roast and peel peppers.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States