Easy and Simple Korean BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were awesome, but I have to say my addition made all the difference. I added a couple of scoops of plum sauce in my measuring cup and added the soy sauce over it to equal a cup. By doing this it made the marinade thicker and gave it just the right sweet and savory taste Korean ribs need. Sorry no exact measuring and I can't remember if I added sugar too. I also emitted the sesame oil and seeds just out of preference. Black pepper, garlic, onions are a must and I marinaded it for 5 hours. Will use it over and over and over because to buy this at our local restaurant is way more expensive than doing it yourself! Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING4MYBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I really like this recipe. I used pork ribs and it came out amazing. Started them on the grill to get a nice sear. I kept a small pan filled with the extra marinade in the grill as the ribs cooked. This was nice because it started to reduce and made an excellent glaze. I applied the sauce multiple times during the grilling and by the time I finished they were coated perfectly. I removed the ribs from the grill and wrapped them in foil and allowed them to cool a bit before cutting them apart. I'm pretty sure that I will be using this recipe every time I do ribs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
AMAZING recipe, a must try. It was loved by with all of us. I cooked it on the bbq but I think next time I will do it in the oven because it flared up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
this is a very simple asian recipe. I live in japan and it taste very similar to the sauces they use. I rate this 5 stars and my husband and children love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
oh emmm geeee! I've never had korean ribs but if this is what they are like - yowza! these were fabulous! I had beef ribs that needed to be cooked, and I was driven by what is in the pantry since the stores are closed to day for a holiday. I followed the directions as written, and added a teaspoon of ground ginger and a few dashes of chinese five spice powder, then marinated for about 3 hours. The flavours stay with these even after cooking, a delightful sticky sweet/salty delicious-ness. Just be sure to monitor progress regularly on the grill, as they can flare up as the fat of the beef rib releases. Mine did suffer a char here and there, but still came out very tasty. Will be making again very soon. Thanks Doubledown for sharing. This recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Amazing! Had "regular" beef ribs, not the special cut. Didn't have green onions or sesame seeds. I was skeptical about a recipe with 4 ingredients (soy, sugar, garlic, sesame oil) but these were delish! Hubby didn't stop raving! We did the ribs in the crock pot but this would be great grilled. Also would be an excellent marinade for flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I had to cook them in the oven due to bad weather, but they were wonderful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These we out of this world great!!! thank you so much for posting this recipe!! they were a huge hit, my husband wants this to be the only way I make ribs!! lol!! the only things i did different,i did not have the sesame seeds,( but i did have the oil..) and i was not able to marinate them for that long.. but, omg!!! fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe except I marinated them for 12 hours and I broiled the ribs...they were amazing!! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I reduced the refined (white) sugar with 1/2 dark brown though. It is the best and simplest recipe for anyone inside or out - grilling by charcoal or stove top. I let it marinate also for 24 hours and am still holding a bit of it in the fridge for a quick dinner during the week. I made it with bok choy and carrots - both grilled and served it with kim chee. The meal was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States