Easy and Quick Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I thought it was bland, with an unappealing texture. Sorry, didn't work at all for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! I cut it in half since it's just me at home. I used 1 can italien style diced tomatoes and about half a can of crushed. Also used a whole green and red pepper, half each of yellow and orange peppers, and a medium sized sweet onion. I cooked it for 7 hours. The meat was tender and it was a dish full of flavor. It was great with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
It was a great slowcooker meal that I will definitely be making again. We didn't have cubed steaks so I used 2 large round steaks that I cut into serving sized pieces. I served it with mashed potatoes. In the last 30 min of cooking time to thicken the sauce I added 1T cornstarch mixed with 1/2c water to make a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I only gave it four stars because I felt like the sliced peppers and onions were too much and I only used one of each. I would have liked it a lot better if I had chopped the veggies into much smaller pieces or even put the sauce in a blender to make it smooth. The flavor was great. I always serve Swiss Steak with mashed potatoes and use the sauce as a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I have made this many times and it is delish! I like to add some beef broth with a tablespoon or 2 of flour mixed in for extra flavor and thickness. It's great on rice or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is the first time I have ever felt like I needed to give a review!!! I followed recipe exactly. Way too much flour to dredge steak in!! I just couldn't wait until dish was ready. 8 hrs. I waited with excitement of anticipation of this wonderul sounding meal. After all, I love peppers, onions, cubed steak, and tomatoes. And then the first taste---(:( Blaa-no taste, then the second bite--Blaa-no taste at all, except maybe bland tomatoe sauce taste. What a let down and alot of wasted money. Sorry. Will never try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Sorry - I was really looking forward to this, but it just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Pretty good but needs more spice. sauce was great, meat was tender but it wasn't notable spice wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was ok but not fabulous. It's easy so I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
this was very good, i love it but hubby ate it but wasn't crazy about it...he said it pretty good to have every 6 mo's or so..lol..so i will make it again, i made it as written, no changes...thanks for the recipe.... Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States