Easy and Quick Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Wonderful! Quick and easy, great over brown rice. I also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Oh WOW! This is going to be a favorite in this house! It tasted so good and hearty...a perfect winter dish! I served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes (also from this site). I used stew meat and it came out so tender it was falling off my fork! I also added 2 beef broth cubes and I obmitted the red pepper. Another reviewer commented it was a sloppy mess, it is kinda sloppy as the meat is so tender that it breaks up and it is kinda like a stew. But it tasted so good I didn't mind, for leftovers the next day I piled it on top of a slice of bread, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
We enjoyed this one, I used Italian tomatoes instread of crushed and added some extra seasoning to suit us...but overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is my recipe, so I won't be pompass and rave about it here! I just wanted to mention, the paprika was just a slight suggestion in my submitte drecipe. I typically use a lot of seasonings in the flour... Mrs. Dash, lemon pepper, garlis salt, etc. have fun with it! Also, The longer it's cooked in the slow cooker, the better - for GOOD steakes 8 hours is the minimum! Also - it should read 2-3 onions and 2-3 peppers - the more the better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
My mom made the same but with some "modifications". Instead of using the veggies, use the "italian style" type stewed tomatoes. It already has the bell peppers and the onions in it along with some other spices. Using these tomatoes takes either the bitterness or sweetness you get from using regular canned crushed tomatoes (they are always different). Also add some extra garlic and serve over egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Outstanding! I was very surprised on how much liquid "sweated" out of the veggies. 2 cups of flour for 2 lbs. of steak? - way too much. Will try 3/4 cup next time. I used 2 large green and 2 large red peppers and 3 medium-sized onions. Also took part of another reviewers suggestion and used Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes instead of crushed. The other suggestion about adding 2 beef broth cubes was a winner too. This FILLED my 4.5 quart slow cooker to the brim! When all was tender . . . served over egg noodles. WOW! Will be trying again with sliced roast. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Quick and easy to prepare, and like the author I added seasoning that I prefer. Must have been good, because I went back for seconds and there were none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This was yummy! Just like I remember Mom making. I used diced tomatoes instead and added 1 can tomato sauce to make extra "gravy" for putting over mashed potatoes. My Mom taught me that a pinch of sugar takes the bitterness out of the sauce. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great! I made it with larger pieces of round steak and only needed about 1 cup of flour. Added seasoned salt, garlic powder, and paprika to the flour, plus 2 beef boul. cubes and a few dashes of worcestershire sauce to the tomatoes. Very flavorful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
Exellent! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States