Easy and Quick Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is my recipe, so I won't be pompass and rave about it here! I just wanted to mention, the paprika was just a slight suggestion in my submitte drecipe. I typically use a lot of seasonings in the flour... Mrs. Dash, lemon pepper, garlis salt, etc. have fun with it! Also, The longer it's cooked in the slow cooker, the better - for GOOD steakes 8 hours is the minimum! Also - it should read 2-3 onions and 2-3 peppers - the more the better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdadof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Outstanding! I was very surprised on how much liquid "sweated" out of the veggies. 2 cups of flour for 2 lbs. of steak? - way too much. Will try 3/4 cup next time. I used 2 large green and 2 large red peppers and 3 medium-sized onions. Also took part of another reviewers suggestion and used Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes instead of crushed. The other suggestion about adding 2 beef broth cubes was a winner too. This FILLED my 4.5 quart slow cooker to the brim! When all was tender . . . served over egg noodles. WOW! Will be trying again with sliced roast. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
My mom made the same but with some "modifications". Instead of using the veggies, use the "italian style" type stewed tomatoes. It already has the bell peppers and the onions in it along with some other spices. Using these tomatoes takes either the bitterness or sweetness you get from using regular canned crushed tomatoes (they are always different). Also add some extra garlic and serve over egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Oh WOW! This is going to be a favorite in this house! It tasted so good and hearty...a perfect winter dish! I served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes (also from this site). I used stew meat and it came out so tender it was falling off my fork! I also added 2 beef broth cubes and I obmitted the red pepper. Another reviewer commented it was a sloppy mess, it is kinda sloppy as the meat is so tender that it breaks up and it is kinda like a stew. But it tasted so good I didn't mind, for leftovers the next day I piled it on top of a slice of bread, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My husband loved this. I only made a couple changes...I didn't have the veggies in the recipe so I used mushrooms instead. It was fantastic. Every bit was eaten up, even by my 19 month old daughter, who is very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkravyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
.too many canned tomatoes....use pounded round steak.....dredge in flour....brown well and set aside, add a small amt of oil to pan,saute onions and mix in enough flour to make a nice roux..cook for a couple of mins.add 2 cans of diced tomatoes at most and thin with water or beef broth...season to taste, return beef to pan and simmer until tender...sauce is killer on baked potatoes!Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I had a 2 lb round steak that I was needing to cook, so I scaled this back a bit, eliminated the green pepper (hubby hates it) and baked it in the oven for 2.5 hours. We sliced it thin and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Easy to make and I also added a stick of celery and 3 cloves of garlic....made the whole house smell good all day. The end result, though tender and 'stewy' was a little bland so I had to try and salvage it by adding soy sauce and extra seasonings. Next time I will add some beef stock instead of plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was excellent! I had my in-laws over when I prepared this for the first time and it was a hit with everyone. I was really worried about making a good impression and I didn't have to worry about that with this one. We will enjoy this one again and again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My family really liked this, but since I feel the proportions are off a little as written, I'm giving it only 4 stars. I only used 1 cup of flour (seasoned with seasoned salt, garlic powder, fresh ground pepper, and paprika) and had lots left over. I used 2 green peppers, 2 onions, no red peppers (too darn expensive) and 3 14 oz cans of Italian stewed tomatoes....and while everything was delicious, I had way too many veggies and broth in proportion to the meat. I'm actually going to make some lentil soup with it after we finish the meat! Altogether, very tasty and healthy....just modify it to your own desires. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States