Easy and Quick Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is my recipe, so I won't be pompass and rave about it here! I just wanted to mention, the paprika was just a slight suggestion in my submitte drecipe. I typically use a lot of seasonings in the flour... Mrs. Dash, lemon pepper, garlis salt, etc. have fun with it! Also, The longer it's cooked in the slow cooker, the better - for GOOD steakes 8 hours is the minimum! Also - it should read 2-3 onions and 2-3 peppers - the more the better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdadof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Wonderful! Quick and easy, great over brown rice. I also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Quick and easy to prepare, and like the author I added seasoning that I prefer. Must have been good, because I went back for seconds and there were none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Not sure why it is called easy and quick. It is a slow cooker recipe. It's pretty good. I added two beef bouillon cubes to give it a little body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
A keeper! I used the frozen "seasoning mix" (onions, celery, etc.) for the onion and frozen multi-colored pepper strips (a handful of each on each layer) but stuck to the rest of the recipe and served it over a bed of sticky rice. The family was a little scared at first but after the first bite it was gone - even the 3-yr. old loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
thought this was just so-so. It was a little sweet for my taste and I had added cayenne pepper. I was only able to use 2 peppers and 2 onions as the crockpot was full, even though it's a big one. doubt I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
We must have made this wrong! The end result was a mushy pile of meat and onions. The flavor was a little bland. We'll have to try again with some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This was yummy! Just like I remember Mom making. I used diced tomatoes instead and added 1 can tomato sauce to make extra "gravy" for putting over mashed potatoes. My Mom taught me that a pinch of sugar takes the bitterness out of the sauce. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
My mom made the same but with some "modifications". Instead of using the veggies, use the "italian style" type stewed tomatoes. It already has the bell peppers and the onions in it along with some other spices. Using these tomatoes takes either the bitterness or sweetness you get from using regular canned crushed tomatoes (they are always different). Also add some extra garlic and serve over egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great! I made it with larger pieces of round steak and only needed about 1 cup of flour. Added seasoned salt, garlic powder, and paprika to the flour, plus 2 beef boul. cubes and a few dashes of worcestershire sauce to the tomatoes. Very flavorful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States