Easy and Quick Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I've tried one other recipe for cubed steak and it came out kinda tough, so I was worried. The only thing I did differently was I added a sprinkle of meat tenderizer to the steaks before I dredged them in the flour. My hubby and kids all loved it- extremely tender and a good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good! I used much less peppers and onions than called for, and added some seasonings that I use in my usual swiss steak (dijon mustard, red wine vinegar, bay leaf), but the base recipe is great. Very tender and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was very good and loved by all the guys in my house! I only used ONE can of tomatoes - four would be way too much! I cooked it in the crock pot on high for 5 hours and it was VERY tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I was not very impressed with this recipe. I found it tasted purely like canned tomatoes. Would not suggest trying this recipe. Sorry, definitely will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was not good. I did everything suggested by other readers--Italian stewed tomatoes, extra sauces and seasonings, etc.--it still tasted like nothing and had the MOST unappealing consistency. "Goulash" is the only word I can use to describe it. I saved the leftovers in a corningware dish and though I'd try to turn them into a pot pie for dinner tonight, but I don't think I want to make the effort. The only reason I gave it two stars was because we were able to eatit, didn't have to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Hubby liked it. A miracle! He told me it was a "keeper". Lord only knows when he said that last! LOL! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Booneville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
i like this recipe a lot. it is a good "basic" swiss steak that doesn't take much work (i love the slow cooker aspect!) it allows for adding/playing with seasonings (like the submitter suggested) to your tastes. it is truly an "easy and quick" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara saturday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Easy to make and I also added a stick of celery and 3 cloves of garlic....made the whole house smell good all day. The end result, though tender and 'stewy' was a little bland so I had to try and salvage it by adding soy sauce and extra seasonings. Next time I will add some beef stock instead of plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This dish was very good. I followed other reviewers and tweaked it a bit. I used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes and added 2 beef cubes. In addition, I added a Tbsp. of worchestire sauce. It really helped to kick it up a bit. Also, I only used 1 green pepper, 1 onion, 1 red pepper. The veges were just enought for the amt. of tomatoes I used. I will keep this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Farrar Bubick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
My husband loved this. I only made a couple changes...I didn't have the veggies in the recipe so I used mushrooms instead. It was fantastic. Every bit was eaten up, even by my 19 month old daughter, who is very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkravyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States