Easy and Quick Halushki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My boyfriend made this for my birthday; it wasn't difficult and tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I make halushki (cabbage and noodles) all the time, but usually use turkey kielbasa in place of the bacon and add a bit of butter at the end of cooking right before serving. Today, Italy met Poland when I subbed Johnsonville® mild ground Italian sausage for the bacon. Delish! I still added 2 TBS of butter to finish. Yum. Don't forget to use LOTS of fresh ground black pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have any bacon so I used turkey sausage instead and added a little olive oil and butter for more grease as the sausage was browning. I also added some fresh minced garlic with the onion and sausage. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
5+++. Excellent, easy meal the whole family, including kids, loves. This brought back such good memories! It was a staple on the table of my German great aunts & my nearly daily dinner as a financially strapped, newly iindependent 20 something. In true depression era frugality, my aunts taught me to keep a jar of ham & bacon drippings handy to make this when no meat was available. Serve with black caraway bread. Thank you for reminding me of this scrumptious dish. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This is a very delicious meal, im going to start making this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious!!! I used more bacon than the recipe called for because quite frankly, who doesn't love bacon? I added a bit of sugar to the cabbage as it was cooking and caraway seeds when I added in the noodles. This was a winner and will be made again, often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Per another reviewers suggestion, I used one pot, stirring the cabbage into the bacon & onions mixture. Per another reviewers suggestion, I added caraway seed - brilliant! I also added garlic. My Italian/Irish husband added Parmesan, and I have to admit it was a great enhancement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was nothing short of fantastic! My Mom was visiting when I made this and she LOVED it! We all had seconds. I used less noodles than called for, just my own personal preference. I can't wait to do this one again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very easy. My family are all big fans. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Add rinse and drained sourkraut when cooking then when done add stick of butter or oleo. Wonderful good old fashion Halushki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States