Easy and Quick Halushki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This is a very delicious meal, im going to start making this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
5+++. Excellent, easy meal the whole family, including kids, loves. This brought back such good memories! It was a staple on the table of my German great aunts & my nearly daily dinner as a financially strapped, newly iindependent 20 something. In true depression era frugality, my aunts taught me to keep a jar of ham & bacon drippings handy to make this when no meat was available. Serve with black caraway bread. Thank you for reminding me of this scrumptious dish. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I make halushki (cabbage and noodles) all the time, but usually use turkey kielbasa in place of the bacon and add a bit of butter at the end of cooking right before serving. Today, Italy met Poland when I subbed Johnsonville® mild ground Italian sausage for the bacon. Delish! I still added 2 TBS of butter to finish. Yum. Don't forget to use LOTS of fresh ground black pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I made this dish and it was delicious! I sauteed the onion, bacon in the butter until onions were translucent and bacon was just starting to crisp, then added the cabbage and cooked it all together until cabbage was very wilted and cooked done. I added more butter when I added the cabbage. After I drained the noodles, I added all the incredients in the stockpot and it came out great! Of course, it's not a heart-healthy dish since you are using bacon grease and butter for seasoning, but still yummy! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Add rinse and drained sourkraut when cooking then when done add stick of butter or oleo. Wonderful good old fashion Halushki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very easy. My family are all big fans. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was nothing short of fantastic! My Mom was visiting when I made this and she LOVED it! We all had seconds. I used less noodles than called for, just my own personal preference. I can't wait to do this one again. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious!!! I used more bacon than the recipe called for because quite frankly, who doesn't love bacon? I added a bit of sugar to the cabbage as it was cooking and caraway seeds when I added in the noodles. This was a winner and will be made again, often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have any bacon so I used turkey sausage instead and added a little olive oil and butter for more grease as the sausage was browning. I also added some fresh minced garlic with the onion and sausage. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I had made some extra wide noodles last week and had some leftover. This was Delish and went perfect with my pork roast! I cooked the bacon, sliced the onions and threw those in. Once they were wilted, I tossed in 1/2 a head of shredded Napa cabbage and sauteed a few more minutes. I did add some celery seed for a little contrast. Next time I would like to try caraway seed instead. Thank you lburger24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States