Easy and Delicious Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I loved this...did make changes, some from preference and some from necessity...and some from laziness. Made on stove top; did not use bacon; added three carrots and three ribs of celery; used two cans diced tomatoes with liquid; added ground sage and fennel seed. I really can't imagine the canned great northern beans cooking for that long in the newer crockpots which run so hot. I cooked the onions, celery, and carrots then added the chicken. After chicken was cooked, added tomatoes, beans, and seasonings and simmered for about thirty minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
My family (including three boys ages six and under) loved it! I used turkey kielbasa and turkey bacon to keep this lean and still the taste was delicious. My only change was to add 1 c. water to keep everything moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I used chicken breasts and turkey smoked sausage. Couldnt find canned northern beans so I used white navy beans. This was really tasty.. will make it again as weather gets colder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My husband is French, we live in France, and I just acquired a crockpot, so I was eager to try this recipe. The whole family loved it! I was going to say that it needed more beans, but I just realized that I'd read the recipe wrong and thought it called for one can, not three. I happened to have chicken quarters on hand, so I used them, then removed the skin when it fell off. Made it a bit fattier, perhaps. My husband's suggestion was to add the sausage more at the end - he thought it got overcooked in the crockpot. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is a very good dish and very authentic tasting and the big plus for me it has an interesting background, historically speaking. My slow cooker has a clay pot (which cooks faster) and I don't know if that helped with the flavors but I'm sure it didn't hurt. Like many recipes, the flavor only gets better as a leftover dish. I serve it with a cheesy sourdough bread. I highly recommend this Cassoulet slow cooker recipe. Thank you, Smart Cookie, for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing this recipe. This was the first cassoulete I've ever attempted. I loved that it was easy, and the house smelled amazing when it was in the slow cooker. I followed the recipe exactly. It was very good, but I agree with previous reviews that it was a little on the bland side. I would try it again using a can of seasoned diced tomatoes - fire roasted, or with spices. I think that would help the flavor. I used Bush's Great Northern Beans, Del Monte diced tomatoes, and turkey/beef/pork smoked sausage. Mine was done at 4 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My husband tries to eat very healthy and has been wanting to eat more beans for protein so i've been trying to find more "bean friendly" recipes. I made this recipe using turkey bacon, turkey kielbasa and chicken thighs. My husband LOVED it! He couldn't stop talking about how good it was. I reserved the liquid from both the beans (only used 2 cans) and the tomatoes and i ended up adding some of the tomato liquid back in. I browned the turkey kielbasa after i cooked the turkey bacon and before i sauteed the onions. I also left out the tomato paste (didn't have any in the pantry) and it still came out great. Next time i think i'll leave out the chicken and just use the turkey bacon and turkey kielbasa. I cooked it on high as someone else suggested for about and hour and then turned down to low for another hour and a half. The beans were soft but not mushy and everything was cooked through. I'm sure the leftovers will be great if they don't get eaten in the middle of the night. Overall great dish and i will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My family, including my finicky 6 year old daughter, loved this dish and I will definitely be making this again. I see a few reviews mention that the beans turned to mush, but my beans came out perfectly. Maybe its related to the quality of the canned bean or the fact that I did not stir once everything was mixed in the crock pot? the changes/substitutions I made, mostly for health reasons: 1) chicken breasts instead of thighs, 2) low fat turkey bacon and sausage instead, 3) I used twice the amount of tomato, specifically Muir Glen diced fire roasted canned tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Easy, and good. Next time I will start the cooking on high for at least an hour. This will soften the beans. I found that the beans were still a bit crunchy after cooking on low for five hours. An extra hour on high took care of that, but I think it would be better to start out on high. Probably doesn't matter. I drained the beans, did not rinse, but saved the juice just in case thinning was needed. It wasn't. I did not drain the tomatoes as there was not much juice there to drain. No problem. But be sure to drain the beans or there will be too much liquid. Next time I'll also use bacon-bacon, not turkey. And, I just might substitute or add a duck leg or two. As noted, this was a mighty tasty stew. I think the thickness (for me, anyway, my spouse prefers a more soupy stew) was just right by draining the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Everyone in my family loved this. I used turkey bacon and kielbasa. The only other ingredient change I made was to add carrots. Using a slow cooker for me is about the ease of preparing the meal, so I didn't pre-cook anything but the bacon. I layered the whole chicken breasts, bacon, sausage and onions in the dish then mixed the remaining ingredients, except the bay leaves, in a bowl before spreading over the top. Placed the bay leaves on top and cooked on low for 7 hours. Towards the end I shredded the chicken and mixed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States