Easy and Delicious Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
My whole family loved this. I added some chicken broth before cooking to make more sauce to be daubed up with a baguette. Toute ma famille a aimé ça! J'ai ajouté du bouillon de poule avant la cuisson pour faire plus de sauce à absorber avec de la baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This is an excellent dish. I followed the recipe exactly, but then realized time was getting away from me. So I cooked it on high for three hours in the crockpot and then went to low for an hour. It was perfect. Served it with a nice salad and avoided nice crusty bread which would have been perfect. I believe this recipe is suitable for company as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Jacquemin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I was afraid to leave this all day in my crock pot for fear of overcooking, so I adapted it to my pressure cooker and it was simply fantastic! I pressure cooked the chicken, onions, garlic, spices and added carrots for 30 minutes, letting the pressure drop naturally for 15 minutes. I then added the beans, sausage and cooked bacon, brought it back to pressure for about 3-4 minutes, fast released the pressure and it was all ready. The flavors melded wonderfully and I was able to get it done in about an hour on a weeknight. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I think I would be fine with leaving out the bacon. I also had to add some salt but other than that it was quite tasty. My child was a little put off by its appearance but loved it when he finally tried it. I would love to make this again. It's a nice hearty comforting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Fried extra bacon and cut up green onions to add on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This recipe is delicious. I made it as written except used chicken breasts. Definitely saved in recipe box and making for the second time in 3 weeks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My boys loved this. Easy, one pot meal. The only change I made was cooking it all in one pot and not transferring it to the slow cooker. I covered it and finished it in the oven on 300 for an hour and a half. That's the time limit that suited me. But you could finish it on 350 much quicker. I also added 2 cups of chicken broth so that there was more broth to it otherwise it would've been to dry. Only thing I would change is add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Godwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
The ingredients in this recipe meld together very well making it a unique and tasty stew. I made this 4 days ago and it was very good. Since it is just me and my wife we had a lot left over. We had part of the left over stew last night and it tasted even better than when it was first made. I did not change anything and see no need to either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Everyone in my family loved this. I used turkey bacon and kielbasa. The only other ingredient change I made was to add carrots. Using a slow cooker for me is about the ease of preparing the meal, so I didn't pre-cook anything but the bacon. I layered the whole chicken breasts, bacon, sausage and onions in the dish then mixed the remaining ingredients, except the bay leaves, in a bowl before spreading over the top. Placed the bay leaves on top and cooked on low for 7 hours. Towards the end I shredded the chicken and mixed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I am giving this 3 stars rather than the 2 stars my version deserved because I had no tomato paste and substituted ketchup. I also used chicken breasts and not thighs. Perhaps those changes spoiled the flavor. My husband and I, both fans of full-flavored dishes, found the taste of this stew too concentrated and overwhelming. I am thinning leftovers with chicken broth but haven't tasted them so can't say whether that made the stew more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States