Easy and Delicious Crusty Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the best and easy recipe ever. I followed all the directions and these popovers came out just right, nice and crispy on the outside, fully cooked and soft on the inside. These were better than any restaurant popovers we ever tried, and we tried lots of them. Do make sure you butter the inside of the muffin tins with the melted butter. Highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
For the reviewers that had difficulty I need to edit this recipe to say that the butter should be MELTED and "brushed" into the muffin tins, didnt realize I forgot that part until now! That COULD be one reason, also I would say you need to cook longer so they dont fall, that is when I have my biggest issues...we recently moved and our new oven cooks much slower than our previous house so when I make these I have to cook them longer than usual. Good luck! And I only use white flour for these, not sure if you are using a different type?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I tried these all though easy they do not keep there puffed shape they fall quickly but they are soft & good I cooked for 40 min to get golden color there more like a soft bisquits & good with cinnamon honey butter. But for a pop over I wouldn't do again I like them to stay puffed & crunchy on outside & soft inside..theses ones are just soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
We love these popovers. Easy to make, taste good and never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Not sure how my result is so radically different than the other 6 reviewers, but boy was it! Dense, didn't rise so much as a centimeter, and were VERY eggy- like spoon bread! :( I am a very careful measurer, and am very attentive to temperature and all baking aspects. Maybe I literally "babied" these to much... I will give these another try, and maybe not be so "A.R." about every part of the process. If anyone sees what I did wrong- PLEASE let me know!! I'd love to have your experience as my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Nice puffy crispy popovers! I used half a cap full of oil in each muffin cup and it turned out awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I've never tried a better popover recipe. They rise up like little chef's hats. They are crunchy on the outside and smooth on the inside. Easy to make, too! This is now my standard recipe for popovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is my first time making popovers. While they did fall (no, I didn't open the oven door), they still tasted like the ones I've eaten elsewhere. I made some strawberry butter for them and enjoyed them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was my first time making popovers... and eating one for that matter. The recipe came together very easily. My popovers did fall, not sure why. It had an eggy taste to it but it wasn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This Recipe Is awesome!!! My Popovers Flattened But I added Some Sugar and Cinnamon and now Their Awesome! Thank You! -ChefKayla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States