Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very Good recipe. However I customized it by using cut up Chicken Quarters-Drumstcks,Thighs seasoned with Pepper,and Chicken rub. I mixed the Cream of Chicken soup with Vegetable Broth and a small amount of Milk. I minced about a 1/4 Red Onion and added to the soup mix. Stirred in a package of Saffron Yellow Rice. Poured 2/3rds of the mixture in a buttered 9 X 13" Pyrex dish. Arranged the Chicken on top and put about 1 1/2 cups of Frozen Peas around the Chicken and poured the remainder of the soup mixture over all. Baked it for 1 1/2 hrs covered and it was very delicious. My little lady loved it. The Saffron Rice and Red Onion added character to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My husband cleaned the plate. I used chicken tenders, because that is what I had, and seasoned them with salt and pepper before browning them. I added garlic to the onions and celery 30 seconds before adding the cream soup (which was celery and mushroom with garlic, which is what I had) and chicken stock instead of water. As other reviewers suggested, I used 3/4 cup rice and baked for an hour. It was very good with a nice gravy left over. My 4 yr old was very happy with it. It was a bit rich, and next time I think I will see how I can add some vegies to get those in as well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This sounded very appetizing, but I was disappointed. I followed the hints in other's reviews (cutting up chicken, stirring it all together, and baking for only an hour) and It came out bland and dry. I like to tickle my taste buds. This would be a great dish for kids, as it doesn't have a strong flavor. For everyone else, i would still recommend the above changes, and I will suggest a few of my own. Using chicken thighs (the meat won't be so dry). I would add some savory seasonings - garlic, white pepper, maybe some basil and parsley. I would also suggest reducing the chicken or increasing the rice, as it is very heavy on meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Recipe was a little salty for my taste. 1/2 pack of dry onion soup mix probably would have made it less salty. Also, I think it taste better with cream of mushroom, but super easy recipe and will make it my own next time around. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Yum yum yum! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurseamanda09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Not a fan. I cooked it just as the recipe/directions called, but it was not done when I pulled it out of the oven. It went back in for almost another hour. Then when it was finally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I actually just used this recipe as inspiration. To save time I made a sort of deconstructed casserole. I put 2 lg cans chicken breast, 1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup (+ 1 can water), 1 pkg dry onion soup mix in a skillet and seasoned with my favorite spices. I let it simmer for about 15-20 minutes, adding a can of peas toward the end and then served over rice. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was one of the family favorites growing up. I do mine a little different. I usually use a whole chicken that has been boiled until it falls off the bone. Let cool then shred. In the past I had mixed remaining ingredients with the chicken then baked for said time. However, now what I do is pre-cook rice according to pkg instructions then mix all the ingredients then just pop in over until heated thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knightstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Easy doesn't equal good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
omg if you like lemon chicken add some lemon pepper to the mix it was fantastic5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaawitch

Displaying results 141-150 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States