Easy and Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was very good. Sure it would be good unchanged. However, I am one of the people that made a few changes ... nothing major. Used Golden Mushroom soup and added frozen peas & carrots. Cut meat up in chunks and seasoned with pepper & Garlic powder. I mixed all, except chicken, in one bowl and then put in casserole dish and then added the chicken on top. Then "sunk" the chicken in the liquid. Cover tight so rice will cook. Took good 1 1/2 hour. Think would come out just as good using instant rice and looking less time....just till chicken cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I had to laugh because I didn't click into this for a few days because what could be easier or more crowd pleasing then my g-ma and great g-mas recipe. I am 55 years old and this is the exact same recipe my g-mas made! Well they used a cut-up fryer with skin and all for the chicken. Then Mom changed it to bone-less chicken after I had grown up. I cut it in bite size pieces when my grown kids were little kids....Everyone of their married friends calls or texts me for the recipe at some point! It's a keeper and SO easy! Hmmm now what am I going to do that is different tonight....guess this will be it anyway! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I clicked on this recipe looking for something new, but found the same recipe that I have been using for over 35 years that I vary by adding vegetables in season. Additionally, I always precook the chicken slightly since I found it too greasy. When you are cost cutting, the use of chicken breast in this recipe is not an option when raising a family on little money so using the bone in cuts of chicken adds grease. Another trick is that I always cook meat frozen. I just add a half hour to the cooking time and the meat is much more tender. Now that we have moved to Florida, we are having a hard time with finding good quality meat. A big difference from NY so this tip is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Mueller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Chicken was nice and moist. Rice almost dried out - see my notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I didn't have all of the ingredients it called for and made it my own and it was DELICIOUS. I mixed all of the ingredients in the baking dish i was using, added the rice and them mixed chicken into it. Seasoned chicken with Johnny's seasoning salt (similar to Lowry's) used cream of mushroom, added peas, cut the chicken into bite size pieces and topped it off with sour cream after serving. EVERYONE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is an awesome versatile recipe as can be read from all the reviews. Some reviewers are truly over the top rating it only 4 stars [or less] because "they" are self proclaimed expert chefs who cannot be bothered with anything less than perfection and it is there way or no way. Use some thought and creativity and this dish, just the way it is presented is 100 % foolproof and delicious!!! Get creative and make it your own and you can improve on the already "5" star rating!!! Go, go, go!!! A+ all the way!!! All I can say is thanks so much J. Saunders!!! The best!!! And WHAH!!! to the reviewer who rated this low because the picture did not match the description! A quick easy meal that is also tasty is always appreciated by most folks who have to work for a living!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
My husband loved it. I doubled the recipe and used brown rice so it took longer to cook but was worth the wait. Next time I will try adding some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Good recipe. It's easy to prepare and tastes pretty darn good. The rice had a nice creamy texture. I didn't change or add anything because I wanted to keep it as the simple and satisfying meal that it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I was disappointed. The rice was still hard after 1 and a half hours, because the foil did not adequately seal it. I will try it again but next time I will bake it in a round glass casserole dish with a glass lid and put foil between the dish and the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikehattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Luray, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I've been fixing this for at least 45 years. My 'Chicken Rice Supreme' recipe calls for a whole chicken baked at 325 for 1 1/2 hours. I do add another can of soup sometimes & always add water as it is needed. I sometimes double the rice, add a can of chicken broth & let it sit overnight to absorb the broth & soup. I don't think you can ruin this. The broccoli addition sounds scrumptious & I will be trying that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dupuyer, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States