Easy Yummy Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is really good! I've never had Chinese Chicken Salad. I tweaked it a bit and used only a 1 lb package of coleslaw mix, no lettuce. Because of the decrease in greens, I cut back to 2 packages ramen and for the dressing cut back on the vegetable oil to 3 T plus 1 T sesame oil and the 1 T soy sauce and the 2 seasoning packets. I also used leftover roasted chicken, but other than that followed the recipe. The resulting salad was a tad on the salty side (next time I will try cutting back on the vinegar by a tablespoon as seasoned rice vinegar is quite salty I found), but other than that it is PERFECT! Exactly what I hoped for. The flavors and textures of everything work together great. I think it would have been too oily with a whole 3/4 C oil though, even with the additional noodles and lettuce. In the future I will experiment with adding some canned mandarins or pineapple like others have done. Yummy! Can't wait to have this for lunch the next couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
It's a refreshing and simple chinese chicken salad. My whole family loves it and they are pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I use this recipe a lot. Instead of the cabbage and lettuce, I substitute 2 bags of broccoli slaw, a couple of shredded carrots and a bag of snow pea pods. I will also add some water chestnuts, bean sprouts and a cup of cashews. I use freshly cooked diced chicken breast to cut back a little on the sodium. Another substitution is using olive oil for a better oil since there is high cholesterol and high blood pressure in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Great salad! I really enjoyed this. I made my own chicken on the stove. I just quickly cooked it in the pan. I added some salt to the salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
we loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I made this recipe for me and my husband and we both loved it. I didn't add the onions or cilantro. I substituted the canned chicken for cooked and cubed skinless boneless chicken breast. I added some chow mein noodles and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Excellent recipe. I tried it for the first time at my first office potluck for Valentine's Day and everyone who tried it absolutely loved it. I used red cabbage for more color and I added a can of drained water chestnuts because I had it in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I make this all the time for my family when I have leftover roast chicken. I use the following substitutions: Peanut oil instead of vegetable oil, leftover roast chicken instead of canned chicken and toasted sesame seeds instead of almonds with a little sesame oil sprinkled on to taste. Everyone always raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Great tasting salad!! I used leftover grilled chicken instead of canned and added 2 tsp of sesame oil to the dressing. I did not have any cilantro or almonds so I substituted unsalted peanuts YES peanuts and it was wonderful. The taste and textures are very satisfying. I served it with individual plates of seasonal fruit and got rave reviews. My 4 year old ate it and that is saying alot.. Even better the next day even though there was only 1 small serving left... TRY THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Talk about Yummy. I took this to a church picnic and it was gone in a flash! I already had a prepared Chinese Chicken Salad dressing, so I used about a cup of that and added the soy sauce and flavor packets to that, then followed the directions to prepare it. It was great. Instead of using a head of cabbage, I used a prepared coleslaw bag, which also had slivered carrots and red cabbage in it. My husband wanted a little more snap so I threw in some snow peas, sliced in about thirds, and some chopped up celery. I used Romaine lettuce instead of Iceberg. Instead of regular almonds I used a salad topper roasted almonds packet. It was so easy and delicious, I had people asking for the recipe left and right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States