Easy Yummy Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I make this all the time for my family when I have leftover roast chicken. I use the following substitutions: Peanut oil instead of vegetable oil, leftover roast chicken instead of canned chicken and toasted sesame seeds instead of almonds with a little sesame oil sprinkled on to taste. Everyone always raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
First off, using pre-shredded cabbage and a bag of salad mix saved me a lot of time! I made the recipe following the directions but omitted the cilantro because I didn't have any on hand. When I tasted it, it was a very savory taste as opposed to a sweet and sour taste you would expect. I sprinkled sugar over it and kept mixing it in until it tasted the way I liked it. It worked very well. Some reviewers have commented that it is too oily. I used a large bag of cabbage and a small bag of salad mix. It was not oily at all this way. IF you are afraid it might be too oily for you, add a little dressing at a time to suit your taste. Overall, a tasty and easy salad! P.S. So I'm eating this salad and thinking to myself, "Gee, I wonder if adding mandarine oranges would be good?". So I frantically look through the cupboard for oranges and to my dismay there are none. However, there is a can of pineapple. So I added a whole can plus some juice, and wow! This is now a FIVE STAR SALAD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Excellent recipe. I tried it for the first time at my first office potluck for Valentine's Day and everyone who tried it absolutely loved it. I used red cabbage for more color and I added a can of drained water chestnuts because I had it in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This recipe turned out very well. I used only 1/2 cup of vegetable oil along with 1/4 cup sesame oil to give it a more oriental flavor. I also tossed in some toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Great tasting salad!! I used leftover grilled chicken instead of canned and added 2 tsp of sesame oil to the dressing. I did not have any cilantro or almonds so I substituted unsalted peanuts YES peanuts and it was wonderful. The taste and textures are very satisfying. I served it with individual plates of seasonal fruit and got rave reviews. My 4 year old ate it and that is saying alot.. Even better the next day even though there was only 1 small serving left... TRY THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I made this recipe for me and my husband and we both loved it. I didn't add the onions or cilantro. I substituted the canned chicken for cooked and cubed skinless boneless chicken breast. I added some chow mein noodles and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
It was okay. I would have preferred a sweeter dressing as well. The dressing was just okay, on the bland side. I added canned mandarins to wake up the flavor along with some chow mein noodles to give it a crunch. Was pretty good but I've tried other chinese salads that had more of an oriental flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
This was pretty good but I would have preferred a slightly sweeter dressing. It was also a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
Lots of chopping, but I guess that's to be expected. The dressing separates but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I was not crazy about this recipe. The dressing is on the bland and oily side and it needs some tweaking. I tried adding a little sugar to it but it didnt work. I will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States