Easy Yummy Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I make this all the time for my family when I have leftover roast chicken. I use the following substitutions: Peanut oil instead of vegetable oil, leftover roast chicken instead of canned chicken and toasted sesame seeds instead of almonds with a little sesame oil sprinkled on to taste. Everyone always raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
First off, using pre-shredded cabbage and a bag of salad mix saved me a lot of time! I made the recipe following the directions but omitted the cilantro because I didn't have any on hand. When I tasted it, it was a very savory taste as opposed to a sweet and sour taste you would expect. I sprinkled sugar over it and kept mixing it in until it tasted the way I liked it. It worked very well. Some reviewers have commented that it is too oily. I used a large bag of cabbage and a small bag of salad mix. It was not oily at all this way. IF you are afraid it might be too oily for you, add a little dressing at a time to suit your taste. Overall, a tasty and easy salad! P.S. So I'm eating this salad and thinking to myself, "Gee, I wonder if adding mandarine oranges would be good?". So I frantically look through the cupboard for oranges and to my dismay there are none. However, there is a can of pineapple. So I added a whole can plus some juice, and wow! This is now a FIVE STAR SALAD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Excellent recipe. I tried it for the first time at my first office potluck for Valentine's Day and everyone who tried it absolutely loved it. I used red cabbage for more color and I added a can of drained water chestnuts because I had it in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This recipe turned out very well. I used only 1/2 cup of vegetable oil along with 1/4 cup sesame oil to give it a more oriental flavor. I also tossed in some toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I made this recipe for me and my husband and we both loved it. I didn't add the onions or cilantro. I substituted the canned chicken for cooked and cubed skinless boneless chicken breast. I added some chow mein noodles and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Great tasting salad!! I used leftover grilled chicken instead of canned and added 2 tsp of sesame oil to the dressing. I did not have any cilantro or almonds so I substituted unsalted peanuts YES peanuts and it was wonderful. The taste and textures are very satisfying. I served it with individual plates of seasonal fruit and got rave reviews. My 4 year old ate it and that is saying alot.. Even better the next day even though there was only 1 small serving left... TRY THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
It was okay. I would have preferred a sweeter dressing as well. The dressing was just okay, on the bland side. I added canned mandarins to wake up the flavor along with some chow mein noodles to give it a crunch. Was pretty good but I've tried other chinese salads that had more of an oriental flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
This was pretty good but I would have preferred a slightly sweeter dressing. It was also a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
Lots of chopping, but I guess that's to be expected. The dressing separates but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I was not crazy about this recipe. The dressing is on the bland and oily side and it needs some tweaking. I tried adding a little sugar to it but it didnt work. I will try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States