Easy Yummy Chinese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This Is a good salad. I followed the recipe for the most part. The variations that I made were: baked chicken ( we grow our own so I baked a whole chicken then just cut off all of the meat and chopped it up I only used half of it), dressing-I used a little over a half of a cup canola oil and 1/8 of a cup of sesame oil. II also reduced the amount of ramen season to 2 packets and added 3/4 tsp of sugar. To the salad I added a diced lemon cucumber and some cherry tomatoes. My whole family liked this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Great salad! I really enjoyed this. I made my own chicken on the stove. I just quickly cooked it in the pan. I added some salt to the salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Fantastic starting point. I made a couple tweaks. I reduced the vegetable oil and will use olive oil next time. I add a couple tablespoons of sesame oil. I used grilled chicken breasts that were marinated in soy sauce, garlic, citrus juice, and wine. With those changes, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
It was a great idea, but I found the salad tasteless and too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This recipe was really good after a few tweaks. I felt the dressing needed some sweetness so I added some Stevia. I used fresh grilled chicken breasts and added mandarin oranges. For convenience, I used pre packaged cole slaw mix and shreaded romaine hearts for the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I use this recipe a lot. Instead of the cabbage and lettuce, I substitute 2 bags of broccoli slaw, a couple of shredded carrots and a bag of snow pea pods. I will also add some water chestnuts, bean sprouts and a cup of cashews. I use freshly cooked diced chicken breast to cut back a little on the sodium. Another substitution is using olive oil for a better oil since there is high cholesterol and high blood pressure in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy LeCuyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is really good! I've never had Chinese Chicken Salad. I tweaked it a bit and used only a 1 lb package of coleslaw mix, no lettuce. Because of the decrease in greens, I cut back to 2 packages ramen and for the dressing cut back on the vegetable oil to 3 T plus 1 T sesame oil and the 1 T soy sauce and the 2 seasoning packets. I also used leftover roasted chicken, but other than that followed the recipe. The resulting salad was a tad on the salty side (next time I will try cutting back on the vinegar by a tablespoon as seasoned rice vinegar is quite salty I found), but other than that it is PERFECT! Exactly what I hoped for. The flavors and textures of everything work together great. I think it would have been too oily with a whole 3/4 C oil though, even with the additional noodles and lettuce. In the future I will experiment with adding some canned mandarins or pineapple like others have done. Yummy! Can't wait to have this for lunch the next couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
It's a refreshing and simple chinese chicken salad. My whole family loves it and they are pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
my coworker made this for a potluck once and i had to try making it myself. it was super yummy. my boyfriend who doesnt like salad ate it all up. i added a Tablespoon of Sesame Oil. I think next time I will only put 2 of the 3 ramen packets in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
we loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States