Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made these for Valentines dinner. I have tried cooking filets before and had bad luck. Who knew it was this easy. Followed recipe exactly except for shallots, and they were amazing! If after 14 min. cooking time, they don't appear done, take them out! They are perfect! I did let them rest before we ate them. Great job little cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Kudos :-) lovely lovely recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was simply delicious! However I wish I had timing for medium-well, as that's how my wife prefers it. All the same, it turned out medium-rare and succulent. I substituted the onion powder with finely crushed garlic, and the shallots with onion slices and a knob of butter. The natural flavor of the filet mignon is subtly complemented by the other flavors. It's simply delicious. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oisín Ó Searcóid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I cooked this filet recipe for our romantic Valentine's dinner tonight and they were delicious.. my broiler did 8 mins a side. Cooked to perfection! This is in my recipe box for the next time.. thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
yummy stuff i made mashed potatoes and steamed snow peas and it was quite the yummy meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie Reddinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
All three of us really enjoyed this as it was made in the recipe, just broil under low. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
It's a great recipie!! The steaks came out tender and very flavorful. Thank you! I didn't use the onion powder because I didn't have it, but it was so good! As for the reviewers who think they might use butter for this? The reason you shouldn't is that oil has a much higher resistence to burning in high heat (close to the broiler) than olive oil does. If you really want butter on your meat then melt some after and pour it on. If you cook with it, the meat will tend to burn on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Since my husband & I like our filets rare & seared...I found the bacon raw inside......so next time I fried the bacon to half cooked then wrapped it round the steak & barBQued..Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Bravo! Excellent recipe. Does my heart good to see a 14 yr. old interested in cooking! No matter what you do in life, you've got to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I have used this recipe but in a modified version. Instead of broiling it I pan fried it in a hot cast iron skillet. I also made a wine sauce as a dipping sauce or pour it over the filets. Sauce 1 cup of Burgandy Wine (use a good quality wine) cook it down to a 1/4 cup turn off burner and whisk in 2 TBS of ice cold butter. Add a pinch of sea salt and serve with Filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States