Easy Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I omited the powdered egg. It is perfect!!! Note: I once tried to add an actual egg instead of the powdered egg an it fell apart. I would not suggest trying to do that. It comes out perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe! Of course, the yield is too small for my machine (I believe it bakes 1 lb loaves), so I doubled it. I'm sure it would have been just great if I had followed the recipe exactly... Instead, though, here's what I did (and it turned out fine the way I did it, too, which isn't all that different): for the first measurement, I did everything exactly the same, except that I replaced the powdered egg substitute with ground flaxseed. Then, for the second measurement (since I didn't realize I needed to double it until after I measured it the first time), I put in a little more wheat flour than unbleached white. I also added in an extra teaspoon of salt (by accident). I didn't use any flaxseed for this measurement, either; and, instead of the vegetable oil and sugar, I put in 2 tablespoons of honey. Because the yeast didn't look like it was being mixed in, I added a little extra water, too (about 1/4 cup, probably). Not sure I could ever make it exactly the same way again, but it worked, contrary to what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very good, plain wheat bread. Fluffy and soft and tastes great toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjl6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This bread was wonderful! As soon as it was cool enough to cut, my family was eating it with honey as a snack...Now, I'll just have to make another loaf! Thanks so much for this easy recipe we just love it! ps/I left out the egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Barreto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shoppingmachine
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Really easy to make, healthy and delicious. Next time I will add some vitagluten. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoppingmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Awesome basic recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Nice light texture and the whole wheat adds a nice nuttiness. Made with Kitchenaid mixer for the dough and then rose/shaped by hand. Very small recipe, made 6 dinner rolls (baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes). Plan on doubling or tripling the recipe next time! I think this is a nice basic recipe that you could add flavors onto depending on what you are using the bread for, this could easily become either savory or sweet. Skipped the optional egg substitute, used olive oil for my vegetable oil, 1 T. maple syrup instead of 2 T. white sugar, didn't have bread flour or rapid rise yeast so just used all purpose flour and regular yeast in same amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Absolutely did not work for me at all, very disappointed, this was about 1/2 the size of my normal bread machine loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My 13-month-old daughter has had major issues with gaining weight, so I decided to make some whole wheat bread since it has more calories in it then the airy loaves in the store. This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I didn't have honey on hand, so I tried my luck on this recipe and am glad. I also didn't add the powdered egg, and I put my bread machine on rapid cycle so it would be ready faster. Make sure you check the dough a minute in like it suggests--I had to add about 2 tbsp of water. The bread is ooey, gooey, and OH SO GOOD! It'll be hard to save it for my daughter instead of eating it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybeth1583

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Littleton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Came out great but small. I doubled the quantities to get a loaf that held through the day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States