Easy Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was fantastic!!! Ok, I didn't use the egg powder (it grosses me out) and I used 1 pkg. of rapid yeast. They are so light and with a perfect texture. I shaped them into 6 large rolls and they're the perfect size for sandwiches.Also, I cover them with a dish towle after they come out of the oven to keep the crust soft. I'm makeing another batch for tonights BBQ and shaping them into hot dog and hamburger rolls. I just added more oil, water and flour to the recipe but not more yeast. We'll see how they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Finally! I did it! I made a whole wheat bread that came out correctly. Thanks to the poster of this recipe. I didn't use my breadmaker as it's broken, so I kneaded it in my Kitchenaid Mixer w/the kneading attachment. First for 8 minutes, let rise for 50mins, then knead again for 8 minutes and let rise for 30mins, then cut and shape into 3 pieces and let rise again with a wet towel for 20mins. Stuck it into a preheated 375 oven for 20 minutes. Voila!! Perfect small baguettes for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
Very easy to make, but it made a really small loaf of bread. Definitely excellent for those on a diet. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was SO good! I almost gave up on my bread maker. The last few breads have caved in. I decided to try this one after hubby had a health scare (really high blood pressure). We need to change our eating habits. I used 1 egg white for the powdered egg, 1 T splenda & 1 T sugar, added flax & vital wheat gluten - 1T. Wonderful!!! Even hubby said it was delicious. I have noticed my machine seems to only work on rapid rise so that is the setting & yeast I used for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Perfect 1 pound whole wheat loaf. I used AP flour instead of the bread flour, and whole wheat pastry flour instead of the whole wheat flour. We live at 4600 ft. so I add an additional 2 tbsp. of water and used slightly less than 1 tsp. yeast to keep the loaf from falling. The result was a very light and airy bread. Will definitely use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
the is by far the best recipe for bread machine. i was scared that the loaf will be too big for my small machine but it was just perfect. i did however make some changes i used 10 g of sugar and i added some dried herbs thyme , oregano and basil for extra flavouring. i really reccomend this recipe .. oh also i didnt need to add extra flour or water. i am sure this will be a keeper (^ ^)b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a very good everyday bread recipe! I've made it four times in the past week and it has turned out perfect every time. I have stopped buying grocery store bread because of all the additives, this recipe is so simple I know it by heart already. It's easy to throw the ingredients in the bread machine and go about my day without much time or effort. The size is perfect for getting sandwich-size slices for my kids, and they love it toasted with butter too! The small loaf also requires I make a fresh loaf almost daily, which my family appreciates. This will be my go-to daily bread recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmic Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
it made a small but good loaf. i added 1 tbsp of vital wheat gluten, it probably made it an even 'lighter' loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Good recipe (Thanks Scotdog for passing it along - AND for your tips). I didn't have powdered egg substitute so I went with one egg white (per SD) and I used 2 cups of soft-milled whole wheat bread flour instead of mixing the white/WW. I also added 1 Tbsp flax meal and 1 Tbsp of WW Gluten..made for a a very softy, fluffy bread. I made it in the breadmaker on the dough setting as I like to bake my breads in the oven. Once done in the bread machine, I rolled it out on the counter with a rolling pin and then rolled it up jelly roll style (like a French Loaf) and then let it rise for about an hour and then baked it...YUM! Pics coming to computer screen near you soon! :) Great recipe with Scotdog's tips, next time I may add some chopped sunflower seeds or walnuts....hmmmm...so many choices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I had to make this twice because the dog grabbed the first loaf. So, I tried again. I used the breadmaker to make the dough then took it out and baked at 350 for about 35 minutes. I didn't use the egg substitute--didn't have any--and had to add about 1/2 c flour to the mix. It turned out a very light whole wheat loaf with good flavor. I didn't use wheat gluten and didn't really need any, although it did take a while to rise. Still, with patience this makes a very light loaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States