Easy Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This is a great recipe. Easy to add extras to including jalepenos, rosemary, garlic, black olives, green chiles, &c. to make an artisinal bread, too! Lately have been using AP flour instead of bread flour. The first batch did not turn out too well. However, think I figured it out: AP flour, when you measure it, must be pressed down in the measuring cup to measure a correct cup! Also have added a guinea fowl egg to it; substituted olive oil; and a little half-n-half. All turned out splendidly. Finish with butter and garlic salt on top, too, for a terrific twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I make 2-3 loaves a week, because that's how much we love it; especially my 16 month old toddler. I don't use the egg substitute (even though I have it) because I forgot the first time I made it and it was still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Long McAfee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I used olive oil and did not add the optional egg. Excellent. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Turned out perfect first time I made it. I used 100% white whole wheat flour, 2 T melted butter, 1/2 t 21 Seasoning Salute from Trader Joe's and omitted the egg powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is my go-to bread recipe. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was so good. Yes it did make a small loaf, but that is the right size for the two of us. didn't change any thing. Didn't have the egg and my yeast was so old but it still worked. Diffently will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This bread was fantastic. I left out the powdered egg but made the rest according to the recipe. It is so, so good. The perfect softness. Even after two days it was still soft and delicious. I'm going to start baking a loaf every day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I didn't use the egg substitute (I didn't have it on hand) and used my bread machine on the dough cycle, then removed, shaped, let it rise and baked it at 350 until browned on top. The bread came out soft inside, with a crust that could easily be cut and evenly sliced into sandwich bread. The flavor was good and it was devoured by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Troxel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great and light wheat bread! I did not use the powered egg (didn't have any on hand). I think it might have been my bread machine, but the ends of the bread were kind of crunchy. Overall, yummy bread and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
We love this recipe! It's easy and very tasty and makes great toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States