Easy White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I was looking for a recipe as a base for making a BIG pot for a repasse, and this was good for starters. I'm one of those creative type that enjoys adding 'other' things for bulk. Precooked 16 oz of mixed bean soup. Then added in cooked 3 whole chickens, and added just the meat. 1 large onion, 5 stalks of celery, a few cut up red potatoes (great way to clear out your fridge) Added 1 16 oz Goya Cilantro base, 3 Bay leaves, 2 1/2 TBS of Cumin, Oregano, 1 or more TBS of ADOBO all purpose seasoning to taste. Can of Rotell chilis AND two cans of cream corn. 1 can of Fiesta Nacho Cheese by Campbell (would have added two) Another idea - if you have it on hand - cream cheese as a thickener. I would avoid cornstarch OR flour as it detracts from the taste. So far, it tastes awesome! Give it another day to mellow the flavors, and I bet it will go over very well :-) Juliana in South Jersey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was so tasty! My boys loved it and so did I. I did as other reviewers suggested and put two of the cans of beans in the blender to help thicken it up. I also added only 1 can of the green peppers to keep the spice level down for my younger son. We put a dollop of sour cream on top and also added some freshly ground pepper to my bowl. Will definitely keep this recipe for future meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Very good and easy to make! I used rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great recipe, just substitute boxed organic chicken stock for the broth - commercially prepared broth makes it a little too salty, and some of them have msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Whalen Tarditi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Big hit at the pot luck. I doubled the recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is almost the exact same recipe I've been making for 20 years, except it calls for more broth & more cayenne than my old recipe. I definitely enjoy the little extra kick. I simmer the chicken in the broth until tender, then shred it. Then add all ingredients & simmer until desired consistency. I don't mush the beans like others, I prefer mine whole. I have thickened it with cornmeal, but usually just let the chili simmer until it has thickened on its own. If I don't have enough chicken stock, I've made it with half stock & half beer, which is also good. I melt about 1 to 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese in the pot before serving, then crumble a piece of cornbread in a bowl, spoon up the chili, top with a little more cheese, a dollop of sour cream, & some sliced black olives - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made some alterations based on other's suggestions & this was great! My fiance loves it and is excited for us to make it again! Changes: 1 onion instead of 2, 3 jalepinos instead of the canned peppers, 2 cans of chicken broth instead of 3, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes instead of the cayane pepper (what I had), added some salt and pepper and blended 2 of the 5 cans of beans in the blender with some white wine & olive oil. I also added a couple cups of fresh spinach because we like spinach. To cook up the chicken, I poached it with a mixture of chicken broth, white wine, bay leaf, pepper & majoriam and then shredded it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Put frozen chicken tenderloins in crock pot and cooked on low for 8 hours along with rest of ingredients. then shredded chicken and mashed about 3-4 scoops of beans to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Wow! This turned out excellent! I, like others, pureed 2 of the 5 cans of beans in the blender and added it to the mixture. We also only used 2 cans of the chicken broth. Turned out perfect! This recipe will be added to our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States