Easy White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Great starting point. Like other reviewers, I cut back slightly on the broth and pureed 2 cans of the beans. It gave a creamy, heartiness to it that was divine. I also used a rotisserie chicken and added a can of corn and 2 cans of petite chopped tomatoes. I used lots of cumin and added chopped cilantro towards the end. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARKMD2
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I love making different kinds of chili, and have recently discovered this recipe. It is great, and can be made so that it is very healthy as well. But a couple of caveats though. Cut the broth in half, otherwise you will have very soupy, well soup almost. The most I add is about 20 ounces. Now, 1.5 TEASPOONS of Cayenne? Seriously? Otherwise, I add a few of my own personal preferences (adding a can of low sodium corn, some sliced mushrooms, etc.). I know this is white chili, but I can't picture chile without chili powder, so I add a tablespoon or two of that, which doesn't darken the color much. Excellent cold-weather comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this chili for a cold weekend at the beach and my children said GranShea this is " OFF THE CHAIN" so I know this is a keeper !! Going to enter in a chili cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I don't get all the great reviews. It was watery and too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNICORN141

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made this with a couple of "tweaks" - used a lb of dried beans soaked overnight (less expensive, none of that "gooey" liquid from the can that is mystery liquid) and drained *most* of the water from them before adding to the pot. Used grilled chicken that was cut in 1/2 inch cubes - worked great. Added 2 cans of white corn and about 1/3 cup of potato flakes to thicken. Ate the next day and was SPICY. If we make again, would cut the cayenne to less than 1/2 t for sure; the spice from the green chilis would be sufficient; as written too much for the kids. Other than that, good flavor and very easy to make. And tasted even better on day 2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is one of my favorite recipes on allrecipes.com. I'm giving it four stars because I do make some adjustments when I make it, but it always turns out great! We took the advice of other reviews and puree two of the cans of beans to thicken the broth. I also add two cans of corn and melt the cheese into the chili and top with additional cheese. I really like this recipe because it can be easily adjusted as far as spiciness. I am not a fan of spicy foods, so for me it's just right. But my boyfriend can easily add some sauteed jalapenos and hot sauce to his without overpowering the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
watery, spicy, lacks richness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Good flavor and I agree too watery, will have to get another can of beans (processed through the blender) to thicken. I also added som Penzeys Smokey 4/S spice...OH MAN!!! Took the flavor to another level! I did not add all the cayenne and was not sure the type of green chili (didn't buy canned)...so used Anaheim pepper...just spicy enough! And I used ground chicken breast. Thanks, I have saved this recipe to my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This recipe is awesome!! I have never made white chili before but this recipe is definitely going on my meal rotation. I did make a few changes to fit my family's taste buds. I used only one onion, only 2 cans of chicken broth, mashed one can of beans, added a tsp of salt because I used low sodium chicken broth, added a sprinkle of chili powder, a tsp of cilantro and one can of white corn (drained). And I omitted the cayenne altogether. It was sooo GOOD! Thank you so much for the recipe. I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have tons of food allergies and it is nice to be able to cook chili again! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States