Easy Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Great stuff! Based on other reviews, I reduced the sour cream to 1/4 cup and increased the heavy cream to 3/4 cup and it is wonderful! Great texture! This one goes in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used this recipe for my 2nd attempt at home made whipped cream (I didn't LOVE the results the first time I made a different recipe). This is spot on. The sour cream makes all the difference in the world. This has a delightful flavor and consistency. I did reduce the sour cream by 1/2, as I was afraid of too much *tang* and I"m glad I did. It was perfect. I chilled my bowl and beaters about 30 minutes before whipping. THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Well I am always the one that orders "extra" whipped cream on everything so I love to make my own. This was good...it was much more thick and creamy vs. the normal "whipped" texture. Tasted almost like cheesecake probably because of the sour cream. Would be great with berries or a fruity dessert. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was so good and very easy. I served this over strawberry shortcake and my husband could not get enough! Be sure to chill the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I needed a whipped cream frosting recipe, but I wanted to it to have more substance than just plain fresh whipped cream. Adding the sour cream made the consistancy perfect for the cake! Not too sweet so as not to overdo the great taste of the dark chocolate cake I put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is the BEST substitute for cool whip! It lasts a long time in the fridge...like, we used it on a banana pudding dessert with vanilla wafers and an oreo cookie pudding dessert on the same night and we had some left over till the next morning and it was fine...not melted all over the place like regular whipped cream and not full of artificial stuff like whipped topping. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHISPAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Absolutely delicous! The ability to make it several hours ahead is very helpful when entertaining. It holds up very well. I made it about six hours ahead. I was serving 8 and I doubled the recipe and it was just enough. Also, I increased the confectioners sugar by 1/3 and liked how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Perfection! I haven't been able to get good whipped cream in the UK so I was delighted to find such an easy recipe to get what I needed for my pumpkin pie! One little warning, I would start whipping and nothing would happen for ages and I'd start to worry that I'd got the amounts wrong only for it to suddenly thicken up, so stick with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Think of this as gourmet Cool Whip. I made it to top a sweet potato pie and everyone liked it. It was still stable in the morning and I ended up eating the rest for breakfast (no pie, just the cream!). The first time I made this I did follow others suggestions and used 1/4 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup heavy cream. I upped the powdered sugar to 1/3 cup because some mentioned it wasn't very sweet. I usually don't modify recipes the first time I try them but I was feeding someone who typically doesn't care for sour cream and I was unsure how strong the original recipe would be. The second time I followed the recipe exactly (except for 1/3 cup powdered sugar, not a major change) and it was still delicious with just a slight tang reminiscent of cheesecake. If you don't tell anyone there's sour cream in this I doubt anyone would ever guess. I never had a problem getting it to stiff peaks with a deep, chilled bowl and whisk and my stand up mixer. It didn't take any longer to whip than just whipping cream would take. I can't wait to try this on apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Tastes really good! I used it on top of a coconut cake that called for plain whipped cream. I imagine it would be very good with fresh fruit. I don't think this whips up with as much volume as just plain whipping cream, so beware if you need a specific quantity, you'll probably have to scale up. Also, mine didn't come out quite as stiff as regular whipped cream does. After beating for quite some time I was afraid to beat any longer for fear I'd have butter and it was still fairly loose. The flavor is great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States