Easy Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very creamy...not overly sweet...used it over angel food cake & fresh Strawberries...My almost 2 yr old Granddaughter said...Nuyummmm Gma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Think of this as gourmet Cool Whip. I made it to top a sweet potato pie and everyone liked it. It was still stable in the morning and I ended up eating the rest for breakfast (no pie, just the cream!). The first time I made this I did follow others suggestions and used 1/4 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup heavy cream. I upped the powdered sugar to 1/3 cup because some mentioned it wasn't very sweet. I usually don't modify recipes the first time I try them but I was feeding someone who typically doesn't care for sour cream and I was unsure how strong the original recipe would be. The second time I followed the recipe exactly (except for 1/3 cup powdered sugar, not a major change) and it was still delicious with just a slight tang reminiscent of cheesecake. If you don't tell anyone there's sour cream in this I doubt anyone would ever guess. I never had a problem getting it to stiff peaks with a deep, chilled bowl and whisk and my stand up mixer. It didn't take any longer to whip than just whipping cream would take. I can't wait to try this on apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Delicious! I like how the sourcream nipped a bit of the sweetness. I was scared at first it didn't thicken as fast as I was thinking then it was like poof - thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Made this w/ stawberry shortcake recipe and it was very good. I added a little extra sugar because at first I tasted too much sour cream. Will use again, thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Carota McEwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe. I like it much more with white sugar instead of powdered sugar though. Try that if it doesn't taste quite right to you. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Tatum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I changed it a little to 3/4 cup cream and 1/4 cup sour cream because that was all the sour cream I had. Turned out great! Very flavorful and it held overnight in the fridge extremely well. When put on ice cream, it was still holding when the ice cream had already melted! Thank you for the recipe thymekeeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I made this to go on strawberry shortcake and was not disappointed. I think the sour cream makes it perfect for strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
never peaked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharissaH
Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
After reading other reviews, I made sure to chill the bowl and beaters. I also decided to mix the sour cream, vanilla and powdered sugar in a small separate bowl prior to adding to the chilled bowl containing the heavy cream. It whipped up very quickly and nicely. But I was somewhat dissappointed that the sour cream didn't made a bigger difference. The taste wasn't bad but it wasn't anything special either. It was a nice, thick, creamy whipped cream but not a whole lot different than the recipe minus the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
So good! I followed some reviews and reduced the sour cream to 1/4c, increased the heavy cream to 3/4c, and I made sure the metal mixing bowl and metal whisk were super cold before I started. I also used Splenda instead of regular sugar. It turned out so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleR33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States