Easy Weeknight Tuna Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I wanted to love this recipe. I was excited to finally have a tuna casserole without noodles. But this fell far short. Extremely bland and the ratio of crescent roll topping to filling is WAY off. I would've had to at least triple the filling amount in order for the topping to be balanced with it. Made as directed, tasted filling prior to baking, no taste really. Added garlic powder, kosher salt, cracked black pepper, parsley. Helped some but it would have had to have been put in the mix originally, not as an afterthought. Might make again with many tweaks but sorry, this did not work for us. :( I did note that many of the 4-5 star ratings were only after people amended the original recipe and instructions. That's not really fair. You need to rate based on the original, then you should offer your modifications and what the rating "could" have been. Just my 2 cents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I did make my own "cream of mushroom soup", with just a cup of milk, some vegetable stock, and corn starch, which I poured into a pan of sauteed mushrooms and whisked until thickened. Also, I'd like to mention that gently FOLDING the tuna in is important so it doesn't all go to mush. I also used a pre-baked pie shell, and substituted Parm for the Cheddar. I guess to that end I didn't completely follow the directions, but rather used them as a guide. I've never made a savory pie before, so I was delighted this was quite a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helsingborg, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
It was okay...not nearly as good as I thought it would be. The crescents didn't cook all the way through with the suggested time so I baked the recipe for 10 extra minutes. I think canned chicken or fresh cooked chicken breast would be better in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
As others have said, it is a quick and easy recipe, with pantry staples you usually have on hand. I used 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and sauteed 1/2 red bell pepper along with the onion. As another reviewer suggested, I layered the crescent dough on the bottom of the pie plate with points sticking out of the plate. Mixture over the dough, cheese on top, then folded the left-out dough over the mixture. Worked very well; no soggy dough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very good! I had pie crust to use on top and it was great! Great way to use canned tuna (cheap).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kershaw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did not have an onion so I diced a potato and sprinkled on onion powder and sautéed it like I would have the onion. Everything else was the same. So easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
We really enjoyed this quick and easy meal. I needed a good meal but was short on time and since I had everything in the house this fit the bill perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was SO GOOD and SO EASY! I forgot the cheese under the crust (even after reading another reviewer saying she did it and thinking "Oh, I wouldn't forget to do that"), but it was still fantastic without it. I bought some canned chicken this week to use to make a batch for me and a batch for a friend with a new baby. :) This will be a new staple around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Almost a cross between chicken pot pie and tuna casserole. If you're in the mood for comfort food, but don't have much time? This one's for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Good and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States