Easy Weeknight Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'd actually give it 4.5 stars because its almost there just needs a bit of extra love :) But we really enjoyed this. Even my Chicken Pot Pie hating husband went back for seconds and reheated it for lunch. Which says to me he only thinks he hates it. Now I did make some changes to the recipe. I'm not a fan of frozen mixed veggies (lima beans eww) so I diced some carrots, onion, celery, fresh green beans, and a steamed diced potato. Added some frozen peas. Sauteed all these in a bit of butter until they began to soften. Then I made the sauce and added it to the veggies/chicken mix. I did add some extra poultry seasoning, parsley, onion powder, sage and a little thyme. Even with the cutting up of the veggies this went together quickly, love the rotisserie chicken. I didn't add any extra flour just let the sauce simmer with the veggies for a while until it started to thicken then filled the pie crusts. I did use deep dish pie crust. I thought the sauce was a nice kick start to a pretty good Chicken Pot Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My husband (my toughest critique) said it the best, "I didn't even know I like chicken pot pie or maybe I've never had one this good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I'll give this recipe 4 stars because it makes for an easy weeknight meal as it uses a pre made pie crust, deli roasted chicken and Progresso Recipe Starters Sauce. I didn't make any changes except I did bake on the bottom rack as this helps with cooking the bottom crust when using a glass pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Prior to making this dish I read through the reviews. I noted that some reviews indicated that the sauce was rather thin. Knowing this issue in advance, I chose to add in some parboiled cubed potatoes -figuring the starch in the potato would help thicken up the sauce. I noticed that aside from the mention of salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning that there were no other seasonings that came into play, mainly b/c the recipe focuses too much on the sauce for providing the base of the flavour. I don't care for poultry seasoning and left it out. I elected to add in parsley, garlic powder, savory, and thyme. It's not bad for a busy working parent to make, but if you have the time you'll want to stick w/ a traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious recipe. I love the fact that I can use the rotisserie chicken leftovers. I made this gluten-free, so I didn't use a prepared regular crust. I ended up using a gluten-free bread stuffing "crust" instead. I also thickened the sauce with Pamela's Gluten-Free Baking and Pancake Mix instead of flour. It was a big hit with my family. I could make this recipe at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My family loved this, except I did not follow the directions to make it so easy. I'm sharing this because I think the pie is so much better this way. 1. Make your own pie crust. 2. I used my own vegetable mix of broccoli, corn, carrots (1 cup each) - use vegetables you enjoy. 3. Add salt to taste because it's needed. I don't think my family would've enjoyed this at all with the premade crust and the frozen vegetables. The rotisserie chicken was used in my version, and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made this according to directions except I added a chopped, peeled baked potato. Family really liked it and it was very easy to put together. The flavor of the sauce was just to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made a 10 inch pot pie, so I doubled the veggies and chicken. Fresh carrots, green beans, corn, onion, and few leftover mixed veggies were used. I made homemade crust with white whole wheat flour. Also skipped the poultry seasoning since I thought the flavor was good without it. The creamy garlic sauce gave a great flavor to this chicken pot pie. My family all loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Easy & Delicious! I added my own seasonings along with a diced potato. This was really easy and Hubby went back for seconds. I would make this again. Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for another easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I'll give this 4 stars because of the easy prep and concept for a weeknight meal. I found the recipe didn't have enough seasonings so I added more thyme & sage beyond what the poultry seasoning and Progresso sauce had. I do agree the recipe needs more veggies like celery/potoato to add to what the frozen bag of veggies lack and to boost flavor. I made pie crust from scratch since I had the time. Husband liked the dinner for an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States