Easy Weeknight Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious recipe. I love the fact that I can use the rotisserie chicken leftovers. I made this gluten-free, so I didn't use a prepared regular crust. I ended up using a gluten-free bread stuffing "crust" instead. I also thickened the sauce with Pamela's Gluten-Free Baking and Pancake Mix instead of flour. It was a big hit with my family. I could make this recipe at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made a 10 inch pot pie, so I doubled the veggies and chicken. Fresh carrots, green beans, corn, onion, and few leftover mixed veggies were used. I made homemade crust with white whole wheat flour. Also skipped the poultry seasoning since I thought the flavor was good without it. The creamy garlic sauce gave a great flavor to this chicken pot pie. My family all loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Easy & Delicious! I added my own seasonings along with a diced potato. This was really easy and Hubby went back for seconds. I would make this again. Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for another easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I'll give this 4 stars because of the easy prep and concept for a weeknight meal. I found the recipe didn't have enough seasonings so I added more thyme & sage beyond what the poultry seasoning and Progresso sauce had. I do agree the recipe needs more veggies like celery/potoato to add to what the frozen bag of veggies lack and to boost flavor. I made pie crust from scratch since I had the time. Husband liked the dinner for an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Prior to making this dish I read through the reviews. I noted that some reviews indicated that the sauce was rather thin. Knowing this issue in advance, I chose to add in some parboiled cubed potatoes -figuring the starch in the potato would help thicken up the sauce. I noticed that aside from the mention of salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning that there were no other seasonings that came into play, mainly b/c the recipe focuses too much on the sauce for providing the base of the flavour. I don't care for poultry seasoning and left it out. I elected to add in parsley, garlic powder, savory, and thyme. It's not bad for a busy working parent to make, but if you have the time you'll want to stick w/ a traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I added more chicken seasoning & California style garlic salt with parsley. It came out really good but too runny. next time, I will double the amount of flour. I also used 24 oz. of veggies for the deep dish. I brushed the top crust with egg wash for a darker, crispier crust. Used deep dish, dark purple pie plate so the crust came out perfectly browned all the way around. Used middle shelf in oven. Took me 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I enjoyed this but my family didn't care for it. They felt the sauce was overpowering. I made this according to the recipe except for the pie crust which I made. It came together very easily and dinner was done quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Yes, it's and easy weeknight chicken pot pie. It was good, but certainly nothing to write home about. I think it would benefit from some additional seasoning and additional veggies (onion, celery, potatoes). It was somewhat lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I'll give this recipe 4 stars because it makes for an easy weeknight meal as it uses a pre made pie crust, deli roasted chicken and Progresso Recipe Starters Sauce. I didn't make any changes except I did bake on the bottom rack as this helps with cooking the bottom crust when using a glass pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States