Easy Weeknight Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
We thought this was "OK". Based on other reviews I made adjustments. I marinated the chicken for about 30min in Italian dressing & garlic before dredging in the panko. I also opted to bake the chicken (I'd used tenders) in a 350degree oven for about 25 min. I knew immediately what others meant about the sauce being too thin, so I made a roux of 2t oil & 2t flour, browned that & then added the Progresso Recipe Starter. Brought that to a boil & simmered a few minutes while the chicken finished up. I did have to add additional seasoning to the sauce as well to fit our tastes. Poured some of the liquid in with chicken (as per recipe) and topped with mozz & remaining crumb mix & popped back in the oven for about 5 more minutes. Like I said, it was OK, but I will probably stick with my regular method for chicken parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I did this in the oven to save a few calories. I realize it's a sponsored recipe but I used my homemade whole wheat bread crumbs & my canned marinara sauce. Sauteed some mushrooms in a pan and added them casserole style to finish with the fresh mozz in the oven. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
VERY GOOD! This meal really came together fast and was very enjoyable. I served it over fettuccine. I'm giving it four stars because I needed to cook at a lower temperature and the sauce needs tomato paste, crushed tomatoes, or something else to thicken it. It was too thin. I was worried that it would be too spicy for us "older folks" but it was not. I would make this again but with the sauce thickened. Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for another fast delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
We were very surprised by this recipe, and the recipe starter. The only thing I did differently was to do an egg coating on the chicken -- shaking the naked breasts didn't work so well, and I wanted them to be nice and crispy. This is quick, easy and very good just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Well, it went together quickly, and it didn't require a lot of skills or utensils. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added the garlic after I turned the chicken. Adding it too soon can cause it to burn. DH and DS liked this, and I found the chicken to be fork tender. Smelled great while cooking, and it was tasty on the tongue, but there was just a "tad" of bitterness after swallowing that was distracting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
First of all I subbed chicken tenderloins for the whole chicken breast so that it cooked quicker without drying. I used my method of breading by mincing about 8 cloves of garlic and tossing the chicken tenders in a zip lock with 1/4 cup olive oil & the garlic. Let it sit in the frig while I prepped my panko/cheese mixture. Tossed the marinated chicken tenders as directed and prepared as directed. This was very tasty with all the additions though I do wish the sauce was just a bit thicker. I might make this again, but I will reduce the recipe starter sauce a bit before I add it to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I don't usually like sauces out of a can, soup out of a can, anything processed really! I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. This was SO easy and made dinner really fast and my family happy. Also, not much clean up which is a plus! I think I would make this again for an easy meal. Didn't change anything other than adding more cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is pretty good, I made it exactly as directed but used 4 half chicken breasts. There was plenty of sauce for the spaghetti. The family like it a lot. I don't ordinarily make things using processed 'starters' but I might keep a can of this around for a quick dinner, just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
When I first opened the can and looked at/tasted the sauce, I was less than impressed, but once it baked w/ the chicken and cheese it was good! I had to do this a bit differently b/c I had 6 breasts and they were super big, so they wouldn't all fit in the pan...I breaded the chicken (using an egg wash first...sorry, it's a habit, lol), and browned it on both sides. I then placed the chicken onto a cookie sheet and baked it in the oven about 10-15 mins., just until it was done. I took it out of the oven and topped it w/ the sauce and mozzarella. I put it back in about another 5-10 mins. until the cheese was melted and it was all bubbly. I do have to say, that I wish the sauce was a bit thicker, though...Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was such a great meal...Loved how tender the chicken turned out, and it was even white meat! I changed up the breading method a little...first I dipped into milk, then flour, then egg, then the panko (learned this from tonkatsu)...turned out beautiful. Also, I used breast tenderloins instead of full breasts. Didn't have to alter the sauce at all...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States