Easy Weeknight Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
We LOVED this. I also breaded the chicken using the milk, flour, egg and bread crumb combo thanks to the suggestion in a previous review (Colorado Trio); I used chicken breasts but sliced them into three pieces or so before I breaded. We ate this meal without the spaghetti because we stay away from too many carbs. I had plenty of chicken, we had a salad on the side and it was yummy! I didn't add anything extra to the sauce. This is going to be a regular during the school year! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was a HUGE hit in my house! I loved the simplicity of the recipe, and yet the flavor was delicious. I did prepare it by cooking the chicken fully in the pan and then placing the chicken, with the sauce poured over the top, in the oven for about 10 minutes. I believe this is what allowed the sauce to thicken up. I served it along side pasta and breadsticks. A definite keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
First of all I subbed chicken tenderloins for the whole chicken breast so that it cooked quicker without drying. I used my method of breading by mincing about 8 cloves of garlic and tossing the chicken tenders in a zip lock with 1/4 cup olive oil & the garlic. Let it sit in the frig while I prepped my panko/cheese mixture. Tossed the marinated chicken tenders as directed and prepared as directed. This was very tasty with all the additions though I do wish the sauce was just a bit thicker. I might make this again, but I will reduce the recipe starter sauce a bit before I add it to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Oh wow, this was delicious. I did make a few changes to this. First, I used thin chicken breasts, then dipped them in an egg/milk mixture before covering them with bread crumbs. Used a 9 X 13 pan that fit 6 thin breasts in. Poured 1/4 cup melted butter over chicken, then added sauce (added 2 teaspoons of minced garlic to sauce) and cheese. Baked at 350 for 25 minutes. The chicken and sauce had the best flavor! Family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
VERY GOOD! This meal really came together fast and was very enjoyable. I served it over fettuccine. I'm giving it four stars because I needed to cook at a lower temperature and the sauce needs tomato paste, crushed tomatoes, or something else to thicken it. It was too thin. I was worried that it would be too spicy for us "older folks" but it was not. I would make this again but with the sauce thickened. Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for another fast delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I don't usually like sauces out of a can, soup out of a can, anything processed really! I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. This was SO easy and made dinner really fast and my family happy. Also, not much clean up which is a plus! I think I would make this again for an easy meal. Didn't change anything other than adding more cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Chicken was moist, my hubby & I liked it. Not a very big hit with the kiddos though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1HotMamaBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Very easy and I loved this sauce, served with spaghetti and lots of extra parm. Delicious! Don't forget to add your leftover bread crumbs to thicken the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
We thought this was "OK". Based on other reviews I made adjustments. I marinated the chicken for about 30min in Italian dressing & garlic before dredging in the panko. I also opted to bake the chicken (I'd used tenders) in a 350degree oven for about 25 min. I knew immediately what others meant about the sauce being too thin, so I made a roux of 2t oil & 2t flour, browned that & then added the Progresso Recipe Starter. Brought that to a boil & simmered a few minutes while the chicken finished up. I did have to add additional seasoning to the sauce as well to fit our tastes. Poured some of the liquid in with chicken (as per recipe) and topped with mozz & remaining crumb mix & popped back in the oven for about 5 more minutes. Like I said, it was OK, but I will probably stick with my regular method for chicken parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was such a great meal...Loved how tender the chicken turned out, and it was even white meat! I changed up the breading method a little...first I dipped into milk, then flour, then egg, then the panko (learned this from tonkatsu)...turned out beautiful. Also, I used breast tenderloins instead of full breasts. Didn't have to alter the sauce at all...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States