Easy Weeknight Chicken Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was actually really good, better than I had anticipated and the whole family enjoyed it and said they'd eat it again! I did increase the quantities of the ingredients (except for the Progresso Recipe Starters Fire Roasted Tomato Cooking Sauce) because I had 5 chicken breasts to cook and I used sliced mozzarella instead of shredded. The only other change I made was that after cooking the chicken breasts I did deglaze the skillet with about a half cup of red wine, let it cook down and then I added the cooking sauce. I'd definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
we loved this - added monterey jack cheese and hunts tomato sauce instead, and it tasted just as good! recommend it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was such a great meal...Loved how tender the chicken turned out, and it was even white meat! I changed up the breading method a little...first I dipped into milk, then flour, then egg, then the panko (learned this from tonkatsu)...turned out beautiful. Also, I used breast tenderloins instead of full breasts. Didn't have to alter the sauce at all...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
When I first opened the can and looked at/tasted the sauce, I was less than impressed, but once it baked w/ the chicken and cheese it was good! I had to do this a bit differently b/c I had 6 breasts and they were super big, so they wouldn't all fit in the pan...I breaded the chicken (using an egg wash first...sorry, it's a habit, lol), and browned it on both sides. I then placed the chicken onto a cookie sheet and baked it in the oven about 10-15 mins., just until it was done. I took it out of the oven and topped it w/ the sauce and mozzarella. I put it back in about another 5-10 mins. until the cheese was melted and it was all bubbly. I do have to say, that I wish the sauce was a bit thicker, though...Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is pretty good, I made it exactly as directed but used 4 half chicken breasts. There was plenty of sauce for the spaghetti. The family like it a lot. I don't ordinarily make things using processed 'starters' but I might keep a can of this around for a quick dinner, just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I don't usually like sauces out of a can, soup out of a can, anything processed really! I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. This was SO easy and made dinner really fast and my family happy. Also, not much clean up which is a plus! I think I would make this again for an easy meal. Didn't change anything other than adding more cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
First of all I subbed chicken tenderloins for the whole chicken breast so that it cooked quicker without drying. I used my method of breading by mincing about 8 cloves of garlic and tossing the chicken tenders in a zip lock with 1/4 cup olive oil & the garlic. Let it sit in the frig while I prepped my panko/cheese mixture. Tossed the marinated chicken tenders as directed and prepared as directed. This was very tasty with all the additions though I do wish the sauce was just a bit thicker. I might make this again, but I will reduce the recipe starter sauce a bit before I add it to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Well, it went together quickly, and it didn't require a lot of skills or utensils. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added the garlic after I turned the chicken. Adding it too soon can cause it to burn. DH and DS liked this, and I found the chicken to be fork tender. Smelled great while cooking, and it was tasty on the tongue, but there was just a "tad" of bitterness after swallowing that was distracting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
We were very surprised by this recipe, and the recipe starter. The only thing I did differently was to do an egg coating on the chicken -- shaking the naked breasts didn't work so well, and I wanted them to be nice and crispy. This is quick, easy and very good just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
VERY GOOD! This meal really came together fast and was very enjoyable. I served it over fettuccine. I'm giving it four stars because I needed to cook at a lower temperature and the sauce needs tomato paste, crushed tomatoes, or something else to thicken it. It was too thin. I was worried that it would be too spicy for us "older folks" but it was not. I would make this again but with the sauce thickened. Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for another fast delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States