Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I did make a few changes, but nothing drastic. I added tons of garlic powder and onion powder because I do to almost all my dishes. Plus I added like 1/8 a cup of Worcestershire sauce. I wanted a healthier option so I omitted the sour cream and instead added a little milk. I cooked it down to thicken it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We did ours with meatballs, which our kids love. It was quick and easy on a sports-practice school night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe didn't go well for my family. To us, it was bland and needed extra garlic and worcesterhire sauce to help it out. I also added in some sauteed mushrooms and a seasoning packet of HVR salad dressing mix to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Not that bad but the AllRecipes recipe in the slow cooker has even more flavor. Great choice in cut of beef for this recipe. I think I will use this type of meat next time with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by happysoupandrice
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My family and I really enjoyed this dish! I made a few additions - used butter instead of oil, added a little flour to thicken the sauce, added a little mustard and green onions. My kids loved it so much that they asked to have it for lunch tomorrow at school! As there were no leftovers, I guess I'll be making another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happysoupandrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
For economic reasons I used boneless chuck steak sliced thin and browned. Added onions, garlic and I added sliced portabello mushrooms and cooked for aa few minutes. I added water,covered, and simmered until almost tender (1hr)and most of liquid was evaporated. Then I added the portabello mushroom sauce and simmered for another 20 min until thickened. Added the sour cream and served over egg noodles.We all loved the flavor of this entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I have to agree with the other reviewers that this was pretty bland. I was expecting big flavor from this can as a boost, but nope. However, it is low in sodium so that's a good point. I had to add 3 more cloves of garlic, 1 additional t of worcestershire sauce, doubled the sour cream and an 8oz container of fresh mushrooms, then it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We really liked this recipe & will use it again. I did tweak it though. After all, it is just a starter, not a finisher. LOL! I first off used only 3/4# of venison loins. While cooking them, I added about 1/4 tsp. California style garlic salt with parsley. I had button mushrooms in the fridge to use up, so I added about 6 of those, sliced, while sauteing the onions. Waited until right towards the end to add the garlic clove, so as not to burn & get bitter. When this was done, I tasted it & it still needed a little more of the California style garlic salt with parsley, so I added about 1/4 tsp. more. I also added about 1/2 tsp. coarse ground black pepper. I cooked my noodles in water with chicken bouillon in it for added flavor & then drained them & tossed them with about 2 Tbsp. butter. My husband doesn't like noodles, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
A basic & bland beef stroganoff that was actually a big hit with the kids at my daughter's sleepover. I felt that while the sauce had a good mushroom flavor, the lack of mushroom chunks was noticeable. Have to do something with the beef too since it came out a little bit tough. A keeper in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
A quick easy meal, but definitely needs more jazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States