Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe didn't go well for my family. To us, it was bland and needed extra garlic and worcesterhire sauce to help it out. I also added in some sauteed mushrooms and a seasoning packet of HVR salad dressing mix to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
A basic & bland beef stroganoff that was actually a big hit with the kids at my daughter's sleepover. I felt that while the sauce had a good mushroom flavor, the lack of mushroom chunks was noticeable. Have to do something with the beef too since it came out a little bit tough. A keeper in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I did make a few changes, but nothing drastic. I added tons of garlic powder and onion powder because I do to almost all my dishes. Plus I added like 1/8 a cup of Worcestershire sauce. I wanted a healthier option so I omitted the sour cream and instead added a little milk. I cooked it down to thicken it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happysoupandrice
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My family and I really enjoyed this dish! I made a few additions - used butter instead of oil, added a little flour to thicken the sauce, added a little mustard and green onions. My kids loved it so much that they asked to have it for lunch tomorrow at school! As there were no leftovers, I guess I'll be making another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happysoupandrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe with a few tweaks...I added in some minced garlic, extra Worcestershire sauce, sliced button mushrooms, and used ground beef....awesome dinner in under 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We really liked this recipe & will use it again. I did tweak it though. After all, it is just a starter, not a finisher. LOL! I first off used only 3/4# of venison loins. While cooking them, I added about 1/4 tsp. California style garlic salt with parsley. I had button mushrooms in the fridge to use up, so I added about 6 of those, sliced, while sauteing the onions. Waited until right towards the end to add the garlic clove, so as not to burn & get bitter. When this was done, I tasted it & it still needed a little more of the California style garlic salt with parsley, so I added about 1/4 tsp. more. I also added about 1/2 tsp. coarse ground black pepper. I cooked my noodles in water with chicken bouillon in it for added flavor & then drained them & tossed them with about 2 Tbsp. butter. My husband doesn't like noodles, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Definitely needs a bit more seasoning to be good. I used butter instead of oil to cook the beef and then to cook the onion and garlic. I added some sliced baby bella mushrooms with the onions as well. I doubled the Worcestershire sauce and sprinkled some onion and garlic powder (about 1/2 teaspoon each) for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
As written, this recipe was a 2 1/2- it took a lot of doctoring. I cut salt to 1/4 tsp and subbed garlic salt, upped garlic to 4 cloves, added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, upped black pepper to 1/2 tsp, added 1 tsp parsley, doubled worcestershire, added 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1 1/2 tsp onion powder, 1 1/2 tsp mustard, and 1 crushed cube of beef bouillon. After changes this is a 5 star recipe- I made it for dinner last night and my husband has already polished off all of the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We did ours with meatballs, which our kids love. It was quick and easy on a sports-practice school night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was good an the family loved it! I added extra onions, 2 cups portabello mushrooms, and 3 tablespoons cream cheese. I also used 2lbs. ground sirloin an extra salt an pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States