Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe didn't go well for my family. To us, it was bland and needed extra garlic and worcesterhire sauce to help it out. I also added in some sauteed mushrooms and a seasoning packet of HVR salad dressing mix to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
A basic & bland beef stroganoff that was actually a big hit with the kids at my daughter's sleepover. I felt that while the sauce had a good mushroom flavor, the lack of mushroom chunks was noticeable. Have to do something with the beef too since it came out a little bit tough. A keeper in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I did make a few changes, but nothing drastic. I added tons of garlic powder and onion powder because I do to almost all my dishes. Plus I added like 1/8 a cup of Worcestershire sauce. I wanted a healthier option so I omitted the sour cream and instead added a little milk. I cooked it down to thicken it. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happysoupandrice
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My family and I really enjoyed this dish! I made a few additions - used butter instead of oil, added a little flour to thicken the sauce, added a little mustard and green onions. My kids loved it so much that they asked to have it for lunch tomorrow at school! As there were no leftovers, I guess I'll be making another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happysoupandrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe with a few tweaks...I added in some minced garlic, extra Worcestershire sauce, sliced button mushrooms, and used ground beef....awesome dinner in under 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We really liked this recipe & will use it again. I did tweak it though. After all, it is just a starter, not a finisher. LOL! I first off used only 3/4# of venison loins. While cooking them, I added about 1/4 tsp. California style garlic salt with parsley. I had button mushrooms in the fridge to use up, so I added about 6 of those, sliced, while sauteing the onions. Waited until right towards the end to add the garlic clove, so as not to burn & get bitter. When this was done, I tasted it & it still needed a little more of the California style garlic salt with parsley, so I added about 1/4 tsp. more. I also added about 1/2 tsp. coarse ground black pepper. I cooked my noodles in water with chicken bouillon in it for added flavor & then drained them & tossed them with about 2 Tbsp. butter. My husband doesn't like noodles, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Definitely needs a bit more seasoning to be good. I used butter instead of oil to cook the beef and then to cook the onion and garlic. I added some sliced baby bella mushrooms with the onions as well. I doubled the Worcestershire sauce and sprinkled some onion and garlic powder (about 1/2 teaspoon each) for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
As written, this recipe was a 2 1/2- it took a lot of doctoring. I cut salt to 1/4 tsp and subbed garlic salt, upped garlic to 4 cloves, added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, upped black pepper to 1/2 tsp, added 1 tsp parsley, doubled worcestershire, added 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1 1/2 tsp onion powder, 1 1/2 tsp mustard, and 1 crushed cube of beef bouillon. After changes this is a 5 star recipe- I made it for dinner last night and my husband has already polished off all of the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We did ours with meatballs, which our kids love. It was quick and easy on a sports-practice school night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was good an the family loved it! I added extra onions, 2 cups portabello mushrooms, and 3 tablespoons cream cheese. I also used 2lbs. ground sirloin an extra salt an pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States