Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Another HUGE hit from Progresso! We thought this was a tasty and delicious mac and cheese. I did omit the red peppers and put the bacon on top with the breadcrumbs. It was quick and easy, which makes it a definite keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Was good but think it lacked something. I added extra bacon to the top with the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Love,Love,Love this recipe! I stayed true to the written instructions but I used FRESH grated cheese, fried up my own bacon, and used FRESH minced garlic because I believe it gives it a better flavor. I didn't have a red bell pepper, but I did have a FRESH off-the-vine green one and chopped that up and added it to the dish. The results? Fantastic! I think next time I make this I will use the red pepper, as the recipe calls for, and add in some roasted green chiles because I think it would give it a little kick. Very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
My family enjoyed this mac & cheese recipe. I don't make it at home because generally I avoid the 'processed cheese loaf' stuff. Because I don't use it, my mac & cheese is usually not as creamy as my kid would like it to be. There was a ton of sauce, so I used 4 cups of pasta and it was plenty 'saucy' enough. This would be a great recipe to double and feed a bunch of hungry kids at a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Very kid friendly recipe. My two extremely picky eaters grandsaon gobbled it down. I entieced them with the bacon bits. I did add 3 extra garlic cloves, personal preferrence only. Thanks Progresso for another winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a solid mac & cheese. I halved the recipe, but used a good spoonful of garlic and used 2 slices of American in lieu of the "loaf" (gross. The word; I'm not judging you for using processed cheese, just for using something called "loaf"). Per prior reviewers expertise, I sprinkled real bacon bits on top w/the panko because I'm not a fan of slimy bacon. I baked for 15 minutes at 350 because the meatloaf muffins I was baking called for that temp. This was runny at first, but thickened nicely as it baked. Even if you don't end up LOVING this, you won't be disappointed. It's worth checking out if you don't have a tried and true fav...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and really like this mac and cheese. I used Velveeta for the American cheese loaf and chose to use real bacon. This is my favorite Progresso Recipe Starter. The sauce is thin when you mix it all together, but it thickens up plenty as it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The kids loved this! The bacon was what sealed the deal. It was rich and creamy! I followed the recipe as written but left out the red pepper since my kiddos aren't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
All three of us really liked this. I used mini-rotini pasta (3 cups was about 10 oz, so don't use a full 12 oz or it may get too dry). The only other change I did was to mix up cheeses - for the sharp cheddar I used about 1/4c sharp cheddar, 1/4c mozzarella and 1c 3-pepper colby-jack (added a nice smocky kick). I didn't use the red bell pepper as I didn't have it on hand. Oh, and I added black pepper (I just always think mac & cheese needs it). Easier than making a traditional roux, this one we'll do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I'm not a Mac'n Cheese lover so I'm letting my husband rate this recipe. He gives it a four star rating. He liked it, no complaints really, but it's not his favorite. As far as making the recipe, like the recipe name it was a very easy. I only made a few changes... I used fresh garlic and cooked up the bacon myself. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Before baking the Mac'n Cheese it seems very running but in the oven it bubbles into a creamy cheesy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States