Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a quick, easy dinner that pleases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I actually thought this was decent! I halved the recipe and used some random ditalini pasta and fresh garlic. Also, to the sauce I used all light Velveeta b/c it melts the best for me, and added in a little seasoned salt and black pepper. I omitted the red pepper, and chose to use the bacon on top w/ the panko (before baking), instead of mixing it in. This had a nice taste...although it will not replace my usual mac and cheese recipes, this was easy to make and was nice to try something new! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I'll give this 5 stars due to flavor. I left out the "cheese loaf" since I don't have it in the house and added a bit more shredded cheddar. This is perfect for busy weeknights and got my daughter out the door for soccer with a full tummy and no complaints. Thanks, Progresso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was very good and really easy. It is extremely rich though. I didn't have american cheese loaf, and it sounds really gross so I just used colby jack blend and shard cheddar. I also used 5 strips of thick cut bacon and omitted the red pepper. I didn't have panko bread crumbs so I used some Italian bread crumbs and put them on before I put the mac n' cheese in the oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was just ok for us. Its definitely a pretty dish, the taste just wasn't something that suited us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
DELICIOUS! I am not a fan of Mac 'n Cheese so this recipe was made especially for Hubby. I was certainly surprised with my first bite. I mentioned that it was pretty good and Hubby corrected me that it was REALLY GOOD! My only change was to use Velveeta cheese in place of the American & Cheddar cheeses as it was what I had on hand. I hesitated to add the red pepper but did anyway and I'm glad I did. I cooked six slices of bacon and crumbled them. After the dish was baked I sprinkled it with panko as instructed but was wondering if I should have done that prior to baking. Oh yes, I didn't have Italian style panko so I mixed plain panko with some Italian seasonings. The end result was DELICIOUS! Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I’m not usually fond of mac and cheese, but we thought this was very good. I used rotini pasta to capture all the delicious sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This turned out pretty good. The family all liked it. It was easy to make, and we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was pretty good. I used extra sharp cheddar and a pound of Cavatappi pasta instead of the penne. I also fried and crumbled bacon instead of using the bacon bits, and left out the red bell pepper. Diced onions would be a nice addition in here. For the topping I mixed a little bit of shredded cheddar in with the panko. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I thought the flavor on this was pretty good. I also think the ratio was off on the amount of pasta you need. I made a letter extra pasta and added almost another cup to the sauce and it was a good consistency. I also used fresh bacon instead of bacon bits. Honestly, this didn't seem any faster to me than making a mac and cheese homeade from scratch. My family would prefer the homeade and I am not using anything canned so I can control the sodium levels & not use a processed food. I don't plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States