Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Good, simple and easy to make recipe. I used Velvetta for the cheese loaf because it was what I assumed they were talking about. Mixed with the sharp cheddar and the cheese sauce, it made a nice mix. Like others, I was highly concerned it was going to be too thin but it did firm up on baking. I put my panko crumbs on top and did not add the pepper. We did not have red pepper in the house and I thought our homegrown green ones would be way too strong. Overall, our family really liked it. I give it four stars because it tended to bind up at the end and there really wasn't any 'wow' factor. Thanks, Progresso, for an easy meal to make during a hectic week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a quick, easy dinner that pleases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I actually thought this was decent! I halved the recipe and used some random ditalini pasta and fresh garlic. Also, to the sauce I used all light Velveeta b/c it melts the best for me, and added in a little seasoned salt and black pepper. I omitted the red pepper, and chose to use the bacon on top w/ the panko (before baking), instead of mixing it in. This had a nice taste...although it will not replace my usual mac and cheese recipes, this was easy to make and was nice to try something new! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I'll give this 5 stars due to flavor. I left out the "cheese loaf" since I don't have it in the house and added a bit more shredded cheddar. This is perfect for busy weeknights and got my daughter out the door for soccer with a full tummy and no complaints. Thanks, Progresso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was very good and really easy. It is extremely rich though. I didn't have american cheese loaf, and it sounds really gross so I just used colby jack blend and shard cheddar. I also used 5 strips of thick cut bacon and omitted the red pepper. I didn't have panko bread crumbs so I used some Italian bread crumbs and put them on before I put the mac n' cheese in the oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was just ok for us. Its definitely a pretty dish, the taste just wasn't something that suited us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
DELICIOUS! I am not a fan of Mac 'n Cheese so this recipe was made especially for Hubby. I was certainly surprised with my first bite. I mentioned that it was pretty good and Hubby corrected me that it was REALLY GOOD! My only change was to use Velveeta cheese in place of the American & Cheddar cheeses as it was what I had on hand. I hesitated to add the red pepper but did anyway and I'm glad I did. I cooked six slices of bacon and crumbled them. After the dish was baked I sprinkled it with panko as instructed but was wondering if I should have done that prior to baking. Oh yes, I didn't have Italian style panko so I mixed plain panko with some Italian seasonings. The end result was DELICIOUS! Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I’m not usually fond of mac and cheese, but we thought this was very good. I used rotini pasta to capture all the delicious sauce. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This turned out pretty good. The family all liked it. It was easy to make, and we all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was pretty good. I used extra sharp cheddar and a pound of Cavatappi pasta instead of the penne. I also fried and crumbled bacon instead of using the bacon bits, and left out the red bell pepper. Diced onions would be a nice addition in here. For the topping I mixed a little bit of shredded cheddar in with the panko. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States