Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Delicious and simple. I used different cheeses because I don't like american cheese, but otherwise it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My son loves this recipe. The trick is the pasta to sauce ratio....too much pasta and its like a brick...too little and its a soup. I add twice the ammount of bacon...and top it with more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very good. Omitted the peppers due to picky eaters. Increased the pasta to 4 cups but shouldn't have because it made the dish too dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
My family and I loved it. Great for a cold Friday evening in Pennsylvania! I used everything except the pepper....only because of my husband. I used the Panko instead of just using bread crumbs that I had. Easy to make which is nice after a hard, long week of work! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Only thing different I did was add a 1/4 cup of Ale Beer to the cheese mixture before adding it to the Penne and used Sun Roasted tomatoes instead of Red Pepper. Added the garlic but a little garlic goes a long way so less is best in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Thought it would better than it was. May make it again but there are others that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Overall, a good recipe that I hope to make again. A few problems with the recipe itself: sprinkle with the bread crumbs before baking for 20 minutes in the oven. It will brown up nicely. Newer cooks might not know this the way the recipe is written. Also, I was not about to purchase expensive American cheese loaf(Velveeta) and open it for just two ounces when I can grate up fresh Parmesan cheese to add with the Cheddar cheese. I used cream instead of milk and increased the garlic to a teaspoon. I also used bell pepper from a jar and thick-cut bacon and wide egg noodles. This was not necessarily an "easy" weeknight. But when my wife took the first bite, she said it was absolutely delicious. She was delighted and the flavor punch of bacon and the pepper really gave a traditional standby a nice twist. I'm looking forward to tomorrow's leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a keeper. A little dry, but more milk should take care of that. Too much food for the two of us. Hoping it freezes well (we'll see.) It took a few more dishes to dirty and a bigger mess than the box stuff takes. Will jazz it up some next time I make it. Maybe a little more garlic (couldn't taste the single clove) and a little more bacon or maybe mix in some lean ground beef. Fried onion rings on top would be great. All-in-all, it is better than the box stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe takes more steps and more pots and pans than an "easy weeknight" dish should. It uses too many packaged TM'ed industrial food products, and not enough fresh ingredients for my taste. I gave it a try but found it too bland, despite all the work/steps, and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJFoodies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Genius. I've been searching forever for a good, creamy Mac n Cheese recipe that doesn't use Velveeta. I've had Cheddar Cheese soup in my cupboard for a while now, and I never even thought to try to make the sauce with it. I don't like bacon or bread crumbs, but the base for the sauce was fantastic. The only other thing was that the garlic was too strong--I think I'll leave it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States