Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This turned out really well! I followed the recipe to a T, except I used radiatore pasta. This is a creamier mac and cheese and the progresso recipe starter adds a lot of flavor to the dish. No real need to season it. I admit I was hesitant when I poured the mac and cheese into my baking dish as it was very runny. It thickens up during the baking time and comes out nice! The whole family loved it and I will make it again! *Disclosure: The information and free Progresso Recipe Starters products were provided by Progresso through the Allrecipes Brand Ambassadors Program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I'll give this 5 stars due to flavor. I left out the "cheese loaf" since I don't have it in the house and added a bit more shredded cheddar. This is perfect for busy weeknights and got my daughter out the door for soccer with a full tummy and no complaints. Thanks, Progresso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Everyone enjoyed this, and I enjoyed the ease of preparation! I haven't made mac and cheese in a while, so DH and DS were quite happy, and they would be thrilled for me to make this again! The bacon and peppers really helped to make this dish tasty. The only change I made was to use whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I threw this together after a busy day of baking, because I had little time and most of the ingredients on hand. I substituted medium pasta shells for the penne pasta, 1/2 cup more of the cheddar cheese for the "American cheese loaf," and I fried up and crumbled 8 slices of bacon instead of using pre-cooked, packaged bacon. I didn't have panko crumbs, so I topped it with pulled bread crumbs drizzled with butter before I baked it. My family loved it....there were only a couple of bites left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is now my go to comfort food recipe! I couldn't find the Progresso sauce so I used Ragu cheese sauce. It was amazing! It took a little bit longer than I anticipated but was totally worth it. I am very glad I tried this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
DELICIOUS! I am not a fan of Mac 'n Cheese so this recipe was made especially for Hubby. I was certainly surprised with my first bite. I mentioned that it was pretty good and Hubby corrected me that it was REALLY GOOD! My only change was to use Velveeta cheese in place of the American & Cheddar cheeses as it was what I had on hand. I hesitated to add the red pepper but did anyway and I'm glad I did. I cooked six slices of bacon and crumbled them. After the dish was baked I sprinkled it with panko as instructed but was wondering if I should have done that prior to baking. Oh yes, I didn't have Italian style panko so I mixed plain panko with some Italian seasonings. The end result was DELICIOUS! Thank you Progresso Recipe Starters for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is a quick, easy dinner that pleases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
When I first saw this recipe I wanted to love it, however when I looked at the ingredients of the three cheese starter I inwardly cringed. I noticed "water" as being the major (first) ingredient and I lost all hope for this recipe. I then started hearing amazing reviews. I chose to make this and found that while the sauce looked "soupy" that it ended up blending beautifully and became a creamy sauce that the pasta had a love affair with. I found the bacon was substantial and could be reduced by half. The garlic flavour was not detectable. I received very good comments from a "picky" adult eater who also suggested that a fried onion topping would be a nice addition. Overall I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This made for a great "last minute" dinner idea on a busy Friday night. I used what I already had on hand, substituting casarecce for the penne pasta, medium cheddar instead of sharp and mozzarella for the American cheese loaf, 1 cup frozen peas/carrots for the diced red bell pepper (kids won't touch it!) and cooked the bacon instead of using pre-packaged. I also baked it for 15 minutes, then sprinkled on the panko bread crumbs, put it back in the oven to finish the remaining 5 to brown the panko a bit. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Because I did not have a can of Progresso Creamy Three-Cheese Cooking Sauce, I used one can of Campbell's Cheddar Cheese Soup and upped the milk to a full "can". I also used fresh minced garlic and I did use the optional panko crumbs on top BUT I drizzled butter over them. I did not eat this myself but my husband and kids did--they ate the whole casserole dish full. No leftovers for Mom. Apparently, it was pretty good. **I was not given anything to make this recipe, I made it for no reason at all other than to feed my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States