Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Because I did not have a can of Progresso Creamy Three-Cheese Cooking Sauce, I used one can of Campbell's Cheddar Cheese Soup and upped the milk to a full "can". I also used fresh minced garlic and I did use the optional panko crumbs on top BUT I drizzled butter over them. I did not eat this myself but my husband and kids did--they ate the whole casserole dish full. No leftovers for Mom. Apparently, it was pretty good. **I was not given anything to make this recipe, I made it for no reason at all other than to feed my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thedailygourmet
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
When I first saw this recipe I wanted to love it, however when I looked at the ingredients of the three cheese starter I inwardly cringed. I noticed "water" as being the major (first) ingredient and I lost all hope for this recipe. I then started hearing amazing reviews. I chose to make this and found that while the sauce looked "soupy" that it ended up blending beautifully and became a creamy sauce that the pasta had a love affair with. I found the bacon was substantial and could be reduced by half. The garlic flavour was not detectable. I received very good comments from a "picky" adult eater who also suggested that a fried onion topping would be a nice addition. Overall I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I used fresh garlic, and five strips of center-cut bacon (one of which was used for the garnish), and cooked for 30 minutes. This actually turned out pretty well, was plenty creamy, and relatively easy to put together. The Italian panko bread crumbs really give the dish some texture, so don't skip that ingredient. I still like my old family mac 'n cheese recipe better, but I wouldn't hesitate to make this again, adding some chopped onion, as I do with my favorite mac 'n cheese recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My mac n cheese lover in our house is my 11 yo grandson. He liked this for the most part, but not the red pepper. Since he doesn't like panko, he was glad I used my whole wheat bread crumbs mixed with a little butter and bacon fat..I didn't want to waste it since I sauteed the bacon anyway..hehe..the cheese flavor was very good in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I went ahead and used an entire box (1 lb.) of penne which is about 1 cup more than called for here. I hate to open a box and not use it all. For us the pasta to sauce ratio was just right with this change. I also cooked up a batch of bacon instead of using the packaged variety. I find it difficult to shred processed cheese because it is very soft so instead, I cubed it and dropped it into the sauce mixture while it was simmering and allowed it to melt. I LOVE the Progresso Italian style panko bread crumbs and they are a staple in my pantry. They add nice texture to the dish and the red bell pepper adds nice color contrast. I made this for my two teenage boys and although it isn't the same as "from scratch" they seemed pleased. Especially with the bacon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Easy, quick, and great as a main dish or side dish. Easy to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
We tried this tonight! It was yummy! I used finely diced yellow bell pepper, and put it into the cheese sauce while it was cooking. So when it was cooked for 20 min in the oven and then served, no one could even tell that there was any vegetable in the dish. I cooked thick cut bacon to use in the dish...used about 6 slices, cooked well done and chopped. I cooked the pasta dish for 15 min, then I mixed in the bacon, topped it with Panko and parmesan cheese, and broiled it for 3-4 min, until lightly brown and crunchy. The Progresso starter is a new product, I think, b/c I had trouble finding it in the grocery store. I had to ask for help from an employee to find it, and I know my store pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
The family specifically asked for me to make this and they were not disappointed! I was worried at first because the Three Cheese Cooking Sauce seemed so thin but after adding 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese (I didn't have any american cheese available), the sauce thickened right up. I did leave out the red pepper but the bacon gave the mac & cheese and nice crunch and saltiness. I also added a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper so there was also a little heat to the sauce as well. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Everyone enjoyed this, and I enjoyed the ease of preparation! I haven't made mac and cheese in a while, so DH and DS were quite happy, and they would be thrilled for me to make this again! The bacon and peppers really helped to make this dish tasty. The only change I made was to use whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This turned out really well! I followed the recipe to a T, except I used radiatore pasta. This is a creamier mac and cheese and the progresso recipe starter adds a lot of flavor to the dish. No real need to season it. I admit I was hesitant when I poured the mac and cheese into my baking dish as it was very runny. It thickens up during the baking time and comes out nice! The whole family loved it and I will make it again! *Disclosure: The information and free Progresso Recipe Starters products were provided by Progresso through the Allrecipes Brand Ambassadors Program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States