Easy Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
As someone stated this is a good base but does require additional seasoning. I took the advice of some of the reviews and added 1 tbsp dried parsley, red 1/2 tsp redpepper flakes, 1 tbsp salt and 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic. Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I added 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano, 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley, 1 tablespoon dried basil, 3 garlic cloves, 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, 2 Tablespoons of corn starch to thinken it up along with 1/2 of a velveta cheese. Nothing like making it more "healthy", but boy is it good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I was looking for something other than just standard "tomato" sauce to serve with Chicken Parm and Eggplant Rollatina and this sauce was the perfect match. I made some minor changes to the recipe for personal preference. I added 4 cloves of garlic - minced - when I sauteed the onion, but that's because we LOVE garlic! I didn't have heavy cream so I used half and half and it was fine. To make the sauce a little chunkier I used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of crushed tomatoes instead of 2 cans of crushed tomatoes. This is my new "go to" sauce for all of my italian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent sauce. Modifications: used butter and olive oil mixed. Browned 1/2 piece bacon in butter/oil mix with shallots and 2cloves garlic. Added some basil,oregano and thyme. Excellent with Sam Mariano tomatoes. Rich, but not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Was super with White fish Ravioli for Feast of the Seven Fishes! Much easier to make than the traditional Italian Red and didn"t overpower the mild ravioli stuffing! The enitre family (30+) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Loved this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Love. i didnt make a lot because I didnt know how it would come out, well I regret that now because it was yummy!! I know i shouldnt change the recipe then review it, but I had to ...I sauteed some red onion and garlic in EVOO and butter, added some vodka, some crushed tomatoes, and some half and half. I also added italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, lots of salt and pepper, and a bit of sugar. Sprinkle w parm at the end and fresh basil or parsley....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Awesome recipe! Incredibly tasty and addicting! I did add chopped garlic with the onion and dried herbs (basil, oregano, rosemary, thyme) to the sauce. Salt and pepper are a must too! A pinch of sugar works well if your sauce comes out tasting a little bitter (it's because tomatoes are quite acidic). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Oh my gosh, I've been looking for a good recipe that will come close to the sauce from an A.M.A.Z.I.N.G local Italian restaurant's that was used with their Spinach Gnocchi. This was AWESOME and even better when sitting in the fridge for a while. I literally made enough for one bowl of gnocchi, HAHA (have a tendency to mess up recipes, LOL) because I didn't want to waste it if it didn't work out. I made it with the highest ranking ricotta gnocchi recipe on this site (silly me forgot the main ingredient though - ricotta. Haha. Now you understand why I made such a small portion of this recipe, LOL. Anywho, BRAVO and VERY DELICIOUS sauce !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This sauce is delicious-I signed up just to comment-my husband did puree the whole batch and it came out smooth and creamy-a five star sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States