Easy Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I added six cloves of minced garlic along with the onion in the butter then added 1/2 tsp. of crushed red pepper flakes along with the vodka. Added to crushed tomatoes: 2 Tbsp. Basil, 1/2 tsp. Oregano, 2 tsp. Parsley, 1 tsp. salt, & 4 tsp. Sugar. I also added 1/2 cup of grated parmesan and pureed with stick blender. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Wonderful! Very easy and taste great. Followed recipe as written, only thing I did is add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Good. But make sure to boil out the Vodka - otherwise it tastes too much like alcohol. Maybe use less Vodka, half to three-quarters of a cup instead of a full cup? When I made it, my kitchen smelled like Vodka. I added 2 extra tablespoons of butter to the sauce also. It was really Vodka-heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
heaven. absolutely heaven. I used tomatoes seasoned in herbes de provence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was a great vodka sauce recipe. Even better the next day. I didn't add as much cream as it called for, because we don't care for our vodka sauce super creamy. Otherwise, a very delicious recipe. I will make this again. And maybe some shrimp and crushed red pepper for a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
If made "as is", very bland!!! I believe this would be a great "base" sauce, but needs additional seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
As someone stated this is a good base but does require additional seasoning. I took the advice of some of the reviews and added 1 tbsp dried parsley, red 1/2 tsp redpepper flakes, 1 tbsp salt and 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic. Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I added 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano, 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley, 1 tablespoon dried basil, 3 garlic cloves, 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, 2 Tablespoons of corn starch to thinken it up along with 1/2 of a velveta cheese. Nothing like making it more "healthy", but boy is it good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I was looking for something other than just standard "tomato" sauce to serve with Chicken Parm and Eggplant Rollatina and this sauce was the perfect match. I made some minor changes to the recipe for personal preference. I added 4 cloves of garlic - minced - when I sauteed the onion, but that's because we LOVE garlic! I didn't have heavy cream so I used half and half and it was fine. To make the sauce a little chunkier I used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of crushed tomatoes instead of 2 cans of crushed tomatoes. This is my new "go to" sauce for all of my italian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent sauce. Modifications: used butter and olive oil mixed. Browned 1/2 piece bacon in butter/oil mix with shallots and 2cloves garlic. Added some basil,oregano and thyme. Excellent with Sam Mariano tomatoes. Rich, but not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States