Easy Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This recipe yields enough sauce for 2 lbs. of pasta, but it is easily halved. The sauce is deliciously rich with butter, heavy cream and grated cheese. I soak a dried red pepperI overnight in the pasta, and cook it into the sauce for some extra bite which works nicely with all that dairy. I also use whole canned tomatoes, which I puree in the blender for a smooth, velvety sauce. I recommend adding a pound to penne cooked al dente to the sauce to thoroughly coat before serving. Top with grated romano or parmesan, and chopped fresh basil or Italian parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
LOVE this recipe. so easy to make. I tweak it to make it a bit more calorie friendly. I use a tbl of olive oil instead of butter. I add a shallot, red onion, fresh rosemary and dried sage as well as minced garlic to the olive oil. I also add whatever 'marinara' sauce I happen to have on hand plus organic diced tomatoes. I add fat free half and half instead of the cream. Always delicious! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I've made this three times now - once for a family holiday dinner with some picky eaters (served pasta with choice of red vodka sauce or pesto) - and the overwhelming favorite was this sauce. This sauce is very easy to put together with a crowd around. At that dinner we had "add ons" of chicken breast strips and feta cheese, both of which were popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I made it a few times and the second time, I cut the cream down to 1/2 pint and it tastes just as good! Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
The cream makes it. I used a little less Vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
OMG! This may be the best sauce I've ever made! I've never written a review for any of the recipes that I've added to my box, but I wanted people to know how great & easy this is. The only things I added based on my family's preferences were a little sea salt, garlic & basil. After it cooked, I poured it in the blender & pureed it. All I can say is wow. Even my picky son said, "Mom, I don't think I can ever go back to your regular tomato sauce." At the end of the meal, we were all cleaning out the bowl with bites of bread! Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was a great recipe. I added a big pinch of Italian seasoning as well as garlic to the onions. I also cubed some pancetta bacon, but think it isn't necessary nor does it add anything extra unless you want the meat. I followed the rest exactly! Everyone loved it, even my son and husband who usually don't order penne alla vodka when we are out. Make sure you have some fresh Italian bread for scooping up the extra sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I added about a 1/2 cup fresh basil and switched the canned tomatoes for fresh ones. Also added a bunch of garlic in when I sauteed the onion, and don't forget to season! Any blend of Italian seasonings along with a little salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and this dish becomes unstoppable. Some people like to add prosciutto or sausage but I prefer it meatless. Pour it over cheese tortellini and you're set. To lighten it up you can just swap the heavy cream for a pint of plain, nonfat greek yogurt. This is literally a masterpiece and people think I'm a professional chef when I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This was the first time I have ever tried or made vodka sauce. It was really, really good! Did use half and half because that is what I had on hand. Did add garlic with onions because we love garlic on just about everything. Next time I will use heavy cream to see if we like it any better. But did work with half n half. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
awesome recipe! Turned out perfect and complimented the cheese ravioli nicely! This is for sure a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States