Easy Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by hottpinkducktape
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Absolutely amazing recipe! Could not stop eating it - so wanted to lighten it up a bit so we could enjoy it more often! We used Grade B tomatoes which we puréed in the food processor, olive oil instead of butter (also decreased the amount slightly), used maybe three to four tablespoons of heavy cream, and the rest 1% milk and this recipe was still ridiculously amazing. We also set the vodka on fire to speed up the process and because it was fun. But be careful! The flames got about three feet high, much higher that I had expected and I had to quickly move it to the island counter so that it wouldn't scorch the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
So easy & Delicious! I usually halve the recipe as that is more than enough for 1 pound of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Be sure to use a good vodka or the liquor is overpowering. A good vodka won't have as strong of a bite to it as the cheap stuff. I gave it 4 stars simply because I had to doctor it up. Doctor it up with oregano, marjoram, garlic and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very simple; very good. Stayed pretty true to the recipe, but did halve the butter and used an equal amount of olive oil. I also added a bit of salt. I allowed plenty of time for the alcohol to simmer out before adding crushed San Marzano tomatoes, then let the tomato mix simmer long on low heat (about an hour) before adding the cream at the end. Got lots of compliments! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was great and loved by all who had it. I served it with homemade gnocchi and made the following alterations: sautéed 3 cloves of garlic with the onion, only used one can of crushed tomatoes, and added 1 cup of chopped asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My ever so picky kids can't get enough of it!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Mecionis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
The sauce as written is okay. It's a good base but needs a little help to be truly awesome. Here's what I did (when making half the recipe): I used Olive Oil instead of butter and added 4 cloves of minced garlic along with the onion. When adding the tomatoes (I used pureed instead of crushed). I also added 1 Tbsp each of fresh basil and parsley, 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. After adding the cream I left the lid off the pot to help thicken the sauce. My Italian foodie neighbor loved the sauce and his wife asked for the recipe. I will make my rendition again and again! Thanks for a great starter Married!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I cut the recipe in half as there were only two of us and accidentally used a 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes with seasoning instead of crushed tomatoes. The result was awesome! I don't know how it would've tasted if I followed the recipe exactly but it was really yummy and half the !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I halved the recipe. I also added dried oregano and basil. It was wonderful! It will definitely be a regular pasta sauce in our home. I served it over lobster ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Bland so we added garlic with the onions and balsamic vinegar and finished with red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States