Easy Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made as written but added 3 cloves of garlic (minced) with the onions. DELISH!!!! Makes plenty for a whole box of pasta PLUS leftovers! We'll be making this again...and AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I halved this recipe and still thought there was too much butter (it pooled a bit on the top of my simmering sauce), but that's an easy fix for next time. Sauteeing 1/2 an onion in a Tbsp of butter (or a tad less) would've sufficed. I did add a bit of sugar, salt and basil just because I felt it could benefit this sauce. Served over some packaged lobster ravioli, it tasted fine, though I think an alfredo or a gorgonzola sauce would've complemented the lobster in the ravioli better. However, that's just a personal preference....I give this sauce a solid 4 stars...easy to prepare and a nice accompanying sauce to various types of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was a good basic vodka sauce. I let the marinara simmer for about 3 hours, added the cream and let simmer for another 40 min. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the onion and butter. Tossed the sauce with grilled chicken, penne and peas. Yum! Hope it freezes well because I had half left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is AMAZING!!!! I never made vodka sauce before, and this came out SO delicious! Thank you for this recipe!!! (I also added a dash of salt as one other person suggested, and some sugar because the tomatoes were bitter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is my new go-to recipe for vodka sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueHydrangea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I make this all the time. I use one can of crushed tomatoes or diced tomatoes and one can of sauce. I use a shallot instead of the onion and I add the vodka last and allow to simmer while pasta cools. We love this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
So easy but missing so much. Everyone has added something to the mix. First I made half as much. I added garlic with the onion, my crushed tomatoes was a 14oz can and were garlic roasted and I added basil and oregano at the same time. I also used light cream and Parmesan cheese. As a base I thinks its a good sauce add some stuff its a great sauce. This came out creamy and a little pinker in color. This went awesome with the gnocchi I made for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was my first time making Vodka Sauce, this was the easiest recipe I could find. Not too many confusing ingredients...nice and simple. It was DELICIOUS! I added grilled chicken and there wasn't not one piece of penne left in that bowl when we were done. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CELESTEEE
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was delicious! It made a ton, easily enough for 1.5 to 2 pounds of pasta. With the onions, I added 3 cloves of chopped garlic and with the vodka, I added 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper (we like things spicy). With the tomatoes, I added 1 tbsp. of dried basil, 1/4 tsp. of oregano, 1 tsp. of dried parsley, 1/2 tsp. of salt. Everything else was the same. Served over rigatoni and topped with a little parmesan cheese - yummy! EDIT: I still make this and I like it better than any restaurant's vodka sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a simple Alfredo sauce that’s rich and creamy.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Vodka Sauce

See how to make simple and spicy, creamy tomato sauce with vodka.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States