Easy Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
My husband is a hunter and loves venison. However, I do not care for it.Because I don't like it I don't really make it. We have a freezer full of venison meat so I decided to try and make some. This was the first recipe I have tried that my husband told me to make again. I added some fresh mushrooms and potatoes.It smells wonderful cooking. The stew sauce and veggies very yummy ( I still didn't like the taste of venison ). You could cut the venison with a spoon. Thanks for the recipe. You made my husband a happy man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I love having another meal to cook using venison! I did add fresh mushrooms. Wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I just made this!!! Awesome! venison melt's in your mouth and that was at exactly 6 hrs cooking on low! I added 1 teaspoon of Beef Boullion Granules to give it some oomf! ;)tossed in 1 lb Button Mushrooms and some cut peeled Potatoes! B/F Loved This! it's a keeper! Thank's for the Recipe Debbie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The meat was so tender! Which I usually overcook venison and it comes out tough, so I was surprised this being a slow cooker recipe, it came out so tender! I also added potates and garlic. Yum, will for sure make again! I noticed on a lot of the reviews for various venison recipes several women say they don't really like the taste of vension, try soaking the meat in milk for at least 10-20 minutes, then let drain in strainer over the sink before cooking. This helps with the "gamey" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is wonderful! And the best part -- so easy! I like quick mix. So, I used some frozen stew veggies from Wal-mart ($2/bag-- I used 2 bags). It had the potatoes, onions, carrots, celery already cut and ready to put in the crock pot. I used the golden mushroom soup as called for, but used cream of chicken soup instead of cream mushroom. I used about a half can of chicken broth. I added a little bit of garlic pepper, and my secret ingredient to almost everything -mild taco seasoning! Threw in crock pot in about 2 minutes before work. It was ready before I got home. Put over cornbread first day; corn chips second day. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Wow! This is so simple and delicious! My dear husband won't eat venison unless its disguised, and he loved this. I wasn't sure how much meat I had, so I put in a whole onion. As suggested, I added garlic and red potatoes. I can't rave enough about this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is my standard "crock-pot" supper. Any meat will do - just allow enough time to let it stew all day. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Photo by Mrs. Laff.
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. The venison was very tender and tasty. I added a bit of garlic seasoning to the venison and served it over egg noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
VERY GOOD, VERY EASY, SO VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very Good. Very easy. Stew meat melted in your mouth. Instead of noodles we put this over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassy's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States