Easy Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
My husband is a hunter and loves venison. However, I do not care for it.Because I don't like it I don't really make it. We have a freezer full of venison meat so I decided to try and make some. This was the first recipe I have tried that my husband told me to make again. I added some fresh mushrooms and potatoes.It smells wonderful cooking. The stew sauce and veggies very yummy ( I still didn't like the taste of venison ). You could cut the venison with a spoon. Thanks for the recipe. You made my husband a happy man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I love having another meal to cook using venison! I did add fresh mushrooms. Wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I just made this!!! Awesome! venison melt's in your mouth and that was at exactly 6 hrs cooking on low! I added 1 teaspoon of Beef Boullion Granules to give it some oomf! ;)tossed in 1 lb Button Mushrooms and some cut peeled Potatoes! B/F Loved This! it's a keeper! Thank's for the Recipe Debbie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is wonderful! And the best part -- so easy! I like quick mix. So, I used some frozen stew veggies from Wal-mart ($2/bag-- I used 2 bags). It had the potatoes, onions, carrots, celery already cut and ready to put in the crock pot. I used the golden mushroom soup as called for, but used cream of chicken soup instead of cream mushroom. I used about a half can of chicken broth. I added a little bit of garlic pepper, and my secret ingredient to almost everything -mild taco seasoning! Threw in crock pot in about 2 minutes before work. It was ready before I got home. Put over cornbread first day; corn chips second day. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The meat was so tender! Which I usually overcook venison and it comes out tough, so I was surprised this being a slow cooker recipe, it came out so tender! I also added potates and garlic. Yum, will for sure make again! I noticed on a lot of the reviews for various venison recipes several women say they don't really like the taste of vension, try soaking the meat in milk for at least 10-20 minutes, then let drain in strainer over the sink before cooking. This helps with the "gamey" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Wow! This is so simple and delicious! My dear husband won't eat venison unless its disguised, and he loved this. I wasn't sure how much meat I had, so I put in a whole onion. As suggested, I added garlic and red potatoes. I can't rave enough about this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is my standard "crock-pot" supper. Any meat will do - just allow enough time to let it stew all day. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
VERY GOOD, VERY EASY, SO VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Laff.
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. The venison was very tender and tasty. I added a bit of garlic seasoning to the venison and served it over egg noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very Good. Very easy. Stew meat melted in your mouth. Instead of noodles we put this over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassy's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States