Easy Veggie Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Great recipe!! The garbanzo filling was so easy to make and very tasty on its own. I made the mistake of thawing the pastry dough too early, so when I tried to separate the sheets, they were stuck together. In desperation, with company coming in two hours, I pinched off the dough into balls, and rolled them out into circles and stuffed them with the filling, and pinched the edges, and baked as directed. This was much better than as directed in the recipe, and makes more samosas. I did make the samosas once per recipe, but there was too much pastry once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Wonderful recipe!! Have made it several times. Sometimes, I make just the filling, and serve it with warm wheat or jalapeno tortillas. Everyone who has tried it has liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
SPECTACULAR!!! these were so easy and amazing to eat! I'm really really impressed with this recipe, very popular with everyone, even good the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I did doctor this up a bit and used peas and potatoes and carrots only in my curry mixture. They do taste good and are usually all gone quickly!!! They go well with a tamarind chutney sauce.. Make sure you taste your seasonings before cooking and I add some fresh cilantro to the mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
awesome recipe! with a couple of mods though...:P i added a potato and a can of peas to the dish...and also, blended about a third of it to make the flavors even out. i also added about a 1/4 c of chopped cilantro for some herby-ness, and also made a sweet and sour tamarind sauce to go with it all. instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I love samosas and it was so exciting (and fun) making them for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Yum...I make these all the time and they are even better heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
My family really enjoyed these. I added crushed garlic and grated ginger to it and everyone wanted the last one which is a good sign
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This recipe was excellent, but I made some changes. I didn't have curry paste, so I added about 4 tbl (or more) of curry powder, 1 tbl of garam masala and about 1 tsp of minced ginger. I also peeled & cubed 1 potato and cooked it with the onions and added 1/2 tbl of minced garlic, about 2-3 tsp of salt, and 2 tbl of dried cilantro. I used 2 cans of garbanzo beans and blended them in a food processor until they were coarse. I couldn't find puff pastry so I took a gamble and used Pillsbury pie crusts and it worked great. I also used alot more apple juice to keep it moist. By the time its all done the potatoes were nicely cooked, so no need to precook potatoes. Very quick and easy and came out just like restaurant samosas (at least to me). Next time I'll throw in some peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made a bunch of changes, but used the same overall idea of the recipe, which is why I'm still rating it. I thawed some frozen mixed vegetables (carrots, broccoli, corn) and added some celery and mushrooms to the garbanzo mixture. I used curry paste still, and sauteed some green onions in oil with the paste before mixing everything else. I added some cumin, chili powder, and salt. After cooking a little to heat everything through, I spooned onto strips of phyllo dough (2 layers thick) and rolled up in triangles. I baked at 350 for 15 minutes and they came out really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States