Easy Veggie Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Great recipe!! The garbanzo filling was so easy to make and very tasty on its own. I made the mistake of thawing the pastry dough too early, so when I tried to separate the sheets, they were stuck together. In desperation, with company coming in two hours, I pinched off the dough into balls, and rolled them out into circles and stuffed them with the filling, and pinched the edges, and baked as directed. This was much better than as directed in the recipe, and makes more samosas. I did make the samosas once per recipe, but there was too much pastry once baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This recipe was excellent, but I made some changes. I didn't have curry paste, so I added about 4 tbl (or more) of curry powder, 1 tbl of garam masala and about 1 tsp of minced ginger. I also peeled & cubed 1 potato and cooked it with the onions and added 1/2 tbl of minced garlic, about 2-3 tsp of salt, and 2 tbl of dried cilantro. I used 2 cans of garbanzo beans and blended them in a food processor until they were coarse. I couldn't find puff pastry so I took a gamble and used Pillsbury pie crusts and it worked great. I also used alot more apple juice to keep it moist. By the time its all done the potatoes were nicely cooked, so no need to precook potatoes. Very quick and easy and came out just like restaurant samosas (at least to me). Next time I'll throw in some peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Love the idea of puff pastry instead of fussing with traditional samosa dough. But the filling was a little lackluster so I went back to my own potato and peas one with a lot more spices--garlic and ginger, amchur powder, garam masala, chaat masala, coriander seed, cumin, and chili powder. Some people also like to add cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Wonderful recipe!! Have made it several times. Sometimes, I make just the filling, and serve it with warm wheat or jalapeno tortillas. Everyone who has tried it has liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I did doctor this up a bit and used peas and potatoes and carrots only in my curry mixture. They do taste good and are usually all gone quickly!!! They go well with a tamarind chutney sauce.. Make sure you taste your seasonings before cooking and I add some fresh cilantro to the mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
The filling was really easy & very tasty. Some reservations about the use of pastry crust; although that also made it very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I rather liked this. It's very simple, and it re-heats well too, although it tastes nothing like the Samosa's I've eaten previously. The main problem was that the filling refuses to stay in the pastry while you eat it, because there was nothing to hold it together; I don't know how one would fix that, though. Also, I prefer my food to have a bit more kick, so next time I'll up the curry or add pepper flakes or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
These are simple and tasty. This is a good recipe for those like me who are not experienced with Indian cuisine. I made them ahead of time, then popped them in the oven when I was ready. I suggest mushing up about half of the chickpeas with a fork in the pan. Otherwise the filling is too bumpy and when you bite into them the chickpeas roll out onto the plate. They are good appetizers for the meal and actually taste decent as cold leftovers as well. This is a good higher protein version than the traditional potato based samosa. The only drawbacks are that the curry paste and dough are somewhat pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These came out delicious. I added peas since I saw other people suggested it; I also added some garlic. I had a tough time with the puff pastry so this took me a lot longer than the directions said. Then I made a quick dipping sauce with barbecue sauce, curry paste, apple juice, and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Tasty, but nothing like any samosa I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States