Easy Veggie Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
These are simple and tasty. This is a good recipe for those like me who are not experienced with Indian cuisine. I made them ahead of time, then popped them in the oven when I was ready. I suggest mushing up about half of the chickpeas with a fork in the pan. Otherwise the filling is too bumpy and when you bite into them the chickpeas roll out onto the plate. They are good appetizers for the meal and actually taste decent as cold leftovers as well. This is a good higher protein version than the traditional potato based samosa. The only drawbacks are that the curry paste and dough are somewhat pricey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Delicious! I really enjoyed these --- the filling was simple and delicious. I had leftover filling and ate it as a side dish for another meal. I am still a novice when it comes to cooking, and I had a lot of trouble stuffing the dough and pinching it closed. My finished samosas were tasty, but not very pretty. I tried triangles, but I think that the reviewer who suggested rolling it into balls might be on the right track. I'll try that method next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used Kris B's suggestions for the most part (added carrots, potatoes, peas, ginger, garlic, cumin, chili powder, cilantro) and the filling was amazingly good. However, I tried baking them in eggroll wrappers, and they didn't turn out so good. The skin was quite tough and slightly chewy. Edible, but could have been better. Also, with all the chopping and peeling, they took me about an hour and a half, not 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proclaimthename

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I LOVED the filling, but I didn't like the puff pastry dough, next time I think I will use regular samosa dough. I also added peas because the ones that I usually get at my local indian restaurant have peas in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made a bunch of changes, but used the same overall idea of the recipe, which is why I'm still rating it. I thawed some frozen mixed vegetables (carrots, broccoli, corn) and added some celery and mushrooms to the garbanzo mixture. I used curry paste still, and sauteed some green onions in oil with the paste before mixing everything else. I added some cumin, chili powder, and salt. After cooking a little to heat everything through, I spooned onto strips of phyllo dough (2 layers thick) and rolled up in triangles. I baked at 350 for 15 minutes and they came out really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These came out delicious. I added peas since I saw other people suggested it; I also added some garlic. I had a tough time with the puff pastry so this took me a lot longer than the directions said. Then I made a quick dipping sauce with barbecue sauce, curry paste, apple juice, and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This recipe was excellent, but I made some changes. I didn't have curry paste, so I added about 4 tbl (or more) of curry powder, 1 tbl of garam masala and about 1 tsp of minced ginger. I also peeled & cubed 1 potato and cooked it with the onions and added 1/2 tbl of minced garlic, about 2-3 tsp of salt, and 2 tbl of dried cilantro. I used 2 cans of garbanzo beans and blended them in a food processor until they were coarse. I couldn't find puff pastry so I took a gamble and used Pillsbury pie crusts and it worked great. I also used alot more apple juice to keep it moist. By the time its all done the potatoes were nicely cooked, so no need to precook potatoes. Very quick and easy and came out just like restaurant samosas (at least to me). Next time I'll throw in some peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
My family really enjoyed these. I added crushed garlic and grated ginger to it and everyone wanted the last one which is a good sign
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
awesome recipe! with a couple of mods though...:P i added a potato and a can of peas to the dish...and also, blended about a third of it to make the flavors even out. i also added about a 1/4 c of chopped cilantro for some herby-ness, and also made a sweet and sour tamarind sauce to go with it all. instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I love samosas and it was so exciting (and fun) making them for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States