Easy Vegetarian Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Thank you! For those who don't eat cream of mushroom condensed soup (like me), you can VERY easily make your own with milk or soy milk. Used it in this recipe and was fabulous. I did add some carrots, parsley, oregano (sautee the veges and then simmer in about a half cup of broth or water )and made my own TVP crumbles ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Super easy to make and it's delicious on its own or over noodles. It has become a staple in our house. I am a vegetarian but my husband is not, but he loves this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Two thumbs up! :D I made this for lunch - easy, flavorful, yum yum yum! :D Did a little tweaking with garlic and onion as we dont use them but still came out great! Thanks for sharing it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Argh, really? I was excited about this, especially with the good reviews. Mine ended up being nearly flavorless TVP and Oats, with mushrooms hiding in the midst. Dry (even after I added more water and then milk) and to me, stroganoff is creamy. the TVP just soaked up the cream of mushroom. If I try again I'll SERIOUSLY cut back TVP and ratchet up the creamy and the flavor. Only 2 stars (instead of 1) because this was my first attempt at this recipe (kept checking to be sure I hadn't missed something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I'd have loved to have given this a better rating but there was a lot of work involved in making this a true vegetarian meal... I am vegan and went a step beyond that as well but that has nothing to do with the rating. The cream of mushroom soup is a no go for vegetarian so I had to make homemade soup first. At that point there is so much in this recipe that was not called out, that it was no longer THIS recipe. It was a good start though and what I came up with as a result is a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
A good start recipe. I am vegetarian and like to adapt recipes that are safe to eat. Try with Quorn products for a much better finish. 1 bag Quorn tenders needs only one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of water. I added additional garlic powder and onion powder, freshly cracked black pepper, and one half vegetable bullion cube. The soup isn't vegan, but most are vegetarian. Check labels. A good, filling dinner. 3+ I'll tweek next time to get to 4 :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Maybe 4 stars... It was a good inspiration for the recipe I made of it. I used a whole onion, a bunch of fresh sliced mushrooms, sauteed them in olive oil (and a bit of butter later), and then added 2 cans of cream of mushroom, some garlic, seasoning salt, salt, pepper, and a bit of chicken flavoring for some zip. I added water to the consistency that I wanted, which was less than half of what was recommended. No oats. Not vegetarian, but a good stroganof minus the chunks of meat. :) Great over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a great simple inexpensive recipe. I have been a vegetarian since 1998, and have gotten lax over the years about the ingredient "natural flavors" which is found in the Cream of Mush. Soup. Honestly, it can be many things and often times, not a meat product, other than that, the soup is completely veg. friendly. Also, I diced about a half cup of fresh shrooms (I don't care for canned) and a whole small onion. I used less salt and subtituted a salt-free all purpose seasoning. I used one package of Morning Star veggie crumbles which is technically TVP with more flavor. I used low sodium/low fat soup. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Yum -- I thought this was great!! Fast, super easy, and tasted close to the beef stroganoff I used to make in my pre-vegetarian days. True, it's not the most beautiful thing laid out on a plate, but it's quite tasty. Even my grumbling teenager, who was determined to think it was gross, ate a big bowl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States